Reference Works
- Oxford reference online. Premium Business section includes:
* Dictionary of Accounting
* Dictionary of Business
* Dictionary of Economics
* Dictionary of Finance and Banking
* Dictionary of Human Resource Management
* Handbook of International Financial Terms
* Dictionary of Statistics
Departmental Information
School of Business Administration Homepage
Contact Information
200 Prentis Bldg
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4505
About the School
Undergraduates in the School of Business Administration have a choice of 6 different majors: Accounting, Finance, Global Supply Chain Management, Information Systems Management, Management, & Marketing. At the Graduate level, 4 degrees are offered: Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Acounting, Master of Science in Taxation, and Ph D. in Business Administration.
Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for Business
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Business. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.
I am also available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Business. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.
Rhonda McGinnis
Librarian Liaison for School of Business Administration
Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext
- Business Source Complete This database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Tutorial for Basic Search
Tutorial for Advanced Search
NOTE: The video tutorials refer to the database as Business Source Corporate and/or references corporate users but searching is exactly the same as the version we have here at Wayne State. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Wall Street Journal (current) Access to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Full-Text The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions … [full description]providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Regional Business News Regional Business News provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).
- EconLit Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries.
- Academic Onefile An excellent source for consumer and business information. It is available to all Michigan residents as part of the state-funded Access Michigan project.
- Philosopher's Index Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
Financial & Statistical Information
SEE ALSO: The WSU Libraries Finance & Investment Resources Guide
- Mergent FIS Online Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Company financial information and Securites & Exchange Commission filings can be accessed by clicking on the Business tab found near the top of the page.
Accounting, Tax, & Business Law Information
SEE ALSO: The WSU Libraries Accounting & Taxation Guide
- RIA Checkpoint This collection includes the FASB Codification, United States Tax Reporter library, State and local tax materials, RIA citator, RIA tax alerts, WG & L journals, and the AICPA Audit and Accounting Guides, Professional Standards & Technical Practice Aids.
- CCH IntelliconnectSearch all of the University's CCH subscriptions of world-class business law, tax, and accounting information in a single search with IntelliConnect.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Law review articles, Shepard's Citations, federal & state codes & cases as well as wide variety of tax law materials can be accessed by clicking on the Legal tab found near the top of the page.
- LegalTrac LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Rm 2210 Adamany Undergraduate Library Wayne State University Library System Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 577-8568 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068


Loading...
