Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

International Baccalaureate Program

This guide is designed to assist students who are in the International Baccalaureate program.

Need Help?

NOTE: Please use the email service and identify yourself as an IB Macomb Student or IB Farmington Student in the subject line.

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

Welcome to the Libraries

Purdy Library

Purdy/Kresge Library

...is where you will find most of the history, business, literature and other social science book collection. This library has a more "traditional" library atmosphere, and provides a space for individual study and quiet collaboration. You will find the Licensed Resource Terminals available for visitors here.

UGL

David Adamany Undergraduate Library

...is where students go to collaborate and learn. This library has study rooms that can be reserved by WSU students, a collaboration commons with moveable green boards on the 2nd floor, and a large silent study area on the 1st floor. The university's Advising and Academic Success Center are also located in this library.

Reuther Library

Walter P. Reuther Library

...is the largest labor archives in North America and is home to the collections of numerous unions and labor-related organizations, political and community groups in urban and metropolitan Detroit, and Wayne State University's official files, records, and documents. These primary source collections are open to anyone engaged in their research, but you should contact our Reference Archivist at reutherreference@wayne.edu in advance.

Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs

The Walter P. Reuther Library, located on the campus of Wayne State University in Detroit, contains millions of primary source documents related to the history of the labor movement, urban affairs, and the Wayne State University Archives. The building is named for UAW President and Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) President Walter Reuther.

 

Reading Room Hours:

Monday-Friday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Saturday-Sunday: Closed
Appointments: Reference Archivist

Location:

Walter P. Reuther Library
5401 Cass Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202

photo of the Reuther Library outside
 

IB Survey/Evaluation

WSU Library Visit Survey/Evaluation

Please click the link below to complete a survey/evaluation about your visit today to Wayne State University libraries.

Using Wayne State Library Computers and Databases

You will need to use our WSU wireless access on your own device on campus or one of our Licensed Resource Terminals available in the Purdy/Kresge Library to access Wayne State University library databases and other online licensed resources.

Getting to Wayne State University, Library Hours & Parking

My JSTOR logoThe MyJSTOR Register & Read program allows you to set up an account in JSTOR, and access full-text of over 1,200 journals.

MyJSTOR Register & Read lets you creat a bookshelf, and have access to read up to 3 articles for 14 days. After 14 days, the selected articles are removed, an you can add an additional 3 items to your bookshelf.

Information about MyJSTOR Register & Read

Mel logoBorrowing through MeL

If your local public library is a member of MeLCat (the Michigan Electronic LIbrary Catalog), you can use your local public library card account to request books (to be delivered to your local public library for you to checkout), or check out books directly from Wayne State University libraries, using your local public library card.

You must have a valid, active library account with your local public library to use this service.

Check to see if your local public library is a MeLCat member

Watch the video below to see how to request a book through MelCat.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.