Skip to Main Content

Skip to Quicklinks
Skip to Sitemap
Skip to Main Navigation
Skip to News

Help

Patents

Tutorials and links to US and global patent information; includes both free and WSU subscription resources.

U.S. Patent Databases (free)

USPTO Patent Full-Text Databases
U.S.-issued patents and published patent applications for searching and display from the U. S. Patent & Trademark Office. Requires a properly configured Web browser with an image display plug-in capable of displaying PDF documents.
Google Patent search (basic)
Full-text searching of the entire U.S. Patent and Trademark Office collection of issued patents and patent applications, downloadable in .pdf format.
Google Patent search (advanced)
Full-text searching of the entire U.S. Patent and Trademark Office collection of issued patents and patent applications, downloadable in .pdf format.
Freepatentsonline.com
Access to all U.S. patents/applications and some European patents; offers both simple and advanced search methods; documents are delivered in .pdf format.

U.S. Patent Databases (WSU subscription)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The Patents search form is located under the US Legal tab of Lexis-Nexis Academic. Provides search capability for granted patents from Europe (1978-present) and Japan (1976-present), and for worldwide patent applications (1978-present).
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, Georef, Knovel, NTIS, Geobase and Inspec as well as patents, standards and handbooks. A product from Elsevier.