This is the "Home" page of the "Academic Pathway to Excellence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Academic Pathway to Excellence  

This guide is developed for students in the Academic Pathway to Excellence Program. It is intended as a Library resource gateway to introduce you to the Wayne State University Library System, its services and resources.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/apx Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Wayne State University Libraries!

This guide is to help you learn about the libraries and the many services and resources that they have for you. Use this page to start your research for any of your classes!

When you need help, be sure to Ask-a-Librarian!

 

 

What You Need to Know to Succeed

As you enter your university career you will find that your professors and course assignments will require credible, scholarly sources. To become an effective researcher you will want to learn how to:

  • search the library catalog for books
  • use library databases for finding articles
  • tell the difference between popular and scholarly sources
  • cite your sources using a consistent citation style such as MLA or APA

You will also want to get to know the libraries and their services and learn where to go to find them.

 

Need Help? Ask-a-Librarian

Reference Desks

  • UGL: 313-577-8852
  • Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
  • Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068

Ask-A-Librarian - Contact us by email or phone when we are offline.

Need Citation Help?

Use the Library's quick guides to help with citing in MLA or APA style.

 

Welcome to the WSU Libraries.

 

Classic Catalog Search

for books, dvds,
and the titles of journals we own

Advanced Search | My Library Account | Map it!
 

WSU Library - Finding Books

Specialized Resourses for Background Information

Use a specialized encyclopedia resource like the Gale Virtual Reference Library or a dictionary (see below) to help define your topic.

  • Biography in Context  
      
    Biography in Context delivers research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. A resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily. In it you'll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.
  • African American Experience  
      
    An online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

Find Articles

These databases cover a wide range of topics and will help you  find a number of full-text scholarly articles to begin your research.

  • Academic Onefile  
      
    Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
      
    Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context  
      
    Resources are divided into topics which contain numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents, and web sites.
 

WSU Library - Finding Articles

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip