Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

How To Cite References Using APA Style

Examples of APA Citation Style for use in Reference Lists.

APA 6th Edition Examples - Encyclopedia Articles

  • Print encyclopedia (author listed)

White, P.D. (1998). Heart. In The Encyclopedia Americana (International edition, Vol. 14, pp. 1-5). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

  • Print encyclopedia (no author listed)

Heart. (1998). In The Encyclopedia Americana (International edition, Vol. 14, pp. 1-5). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

  • Online encyclopedia (from the internet)

Graham, G. (2005). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Fall 2007 ed.). Retrieved from http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/behaviorism/

  • Online encyclopedia (from a database)

Ehrensal, P. (2008). Bullying. In C.J. Russo (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Education Law (Vol. 1, pp. 130-132). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc.  

More APA Style Guides

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) is available at any Wayne State library reference desk. Call number is BF 76.7 .P83 2010
 
You can now purchase an individual ebook of the APA Publication Manual, 6th Edition, compatible with Kindle File, ipad, Android, PC and Mac.