Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

English

This guide is developed to assist students researching topics in literary and cultural studies, composition and rhetoric, and film and media studies. Refer to other subject guides and the tabs below for related resources.

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you learn about the libraries and the resources that will be useful for writing your papers for ENG 1020.

When you need help, be sure to Ask-a-Librarian!

The Library Homepage

Topic/Issue Databases for Background

These library databases contain reliable content and are arranged by topics. They are useful for locating issues that are of concern to the public or the government, or may be of interest as a research topic.

Information Sources

Differences in article publications

Review the Popular, Trade or Scholarly handout linked below and watch the 2 videos.

EXAMPLES

Popular/Mainstream – Lau, A. (2014). A series of unconscionable events. Psychology Today, 47(5), 18-19.

Scholarly/AcademicWelsh, D. T., Ordóñez, L. D., Snyder, D. G., & Christian, M. S. (2015). The slippery slope: How small ethical transgressions pave the way for larger future transgressions. Journal Of Applied Psychology, 100(1), 114-127. doi:10.1037/a0036950

Try to apply what you have learned

Here are two articles from author Atul Gawande, who writes for both popular and scholarly audiences. Select the links below and look at the following articles. Based on what you have learned about different types of publications, try to answer the following questions:

How would you categorize each--as a primary or secondary source?

How would you label each, as scholarly or popular?

Given the video on peer review, do you think any of the articles below might be from a peer reviewed publication? Why?

iSearch Guide Sheet and Power Search Tools

Strategic Searching in Library Databases for Articles

Library databases contain credible, published information that is not freely available through the public Internet. Access to these databases requires login with Access ID and password from off campus and personal devices.

The following databases cover a wide range of topics and will help you find a number of full-text scholarly articles that you can use to support your essay assignments. If you'd like to explore more, try a library Research Guide.


Newspapers


Career Information

Books and more from the WSU Library

Search here for books, media, and the titles of journals we own.

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094