Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

English

This guide is developed to assist students researching topics in literary and cultural studies, composition and rhetoric, and film and media studies. Refer to other subject guides and the tabs below for related resources.

Create a Research Plan

Evaluating Your Sources

Whether you are using a book, article, or web resource, ask yourself these questions about its suitability for your project.

Research & Scholarship

Use these subject guides developed by WSU librarians to find recommended databases and other resources for research in a wide array of subjects from Art to Women's Studies.

Database Best Bets

Use the library Guides to find recommended databases for all subject areas. Below are some recommended starting points.

Engineering
See the Engineering Village homepage and Compendex information page for an overview of the commercial site and Compendex.  Then use the Compendex database (included in Engineering Village 2, link below) from the library's website for your research.

Trade Publications

Trade Publications

What is a trade publication? A trade publication reports news about an industry or profession. Some examples of trade publications are Chemical Week, Aviation Week, and Advanced Materials & Processes.

Locating trade publications:

The multidisciplinary database, Proquest Research Library, contains articles from trade journals, as well as scholarly research articles and magazine articles. Search results are sorted and tabbed by type (Scholarly, Magazines, Trade).

The business database, Business Source Complete, contains articles from many trade journals in a wide range of industries and professions.

To find a list of trade journals for a profession or industry, use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory database. Do an Advanced Search and use the profession (ex.,  civil engineering) or industry (ex., advertising) as a "subject" and "trade" as "Media & Document type."

Subject Guide

Judith Arnold
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313.577.8368
Subjects:Honors

Using the Library

Use the library system and its resources to advantage. Articles from library databases and books from the stacks offer a competitive edge over random websites and listings from Google.

This guide is to help lead you to resources (library and web-based) that will assist you in the ENG 3050/3060 course and its assignments.

Searching the Internet

Search Engines

Citing Sources

The following resources can help with citing your sources using APA style:

Help with Graphics

Use the Student Technology Studio (STS) located on the second floor of the UGL for one-to-one assistance with creating videos, PowerPoint presentations, e-portfolios, and other multimedia assignments. Hours are posted on the website at http://www.lib.wayne.edu/services/computing/labs/sts/.

Below are some web-based resources to help you in incorporating usability and design in your assignments: