Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Mathematics

This guide is designed to assist faculty and students access scholarly Mathematics resources

Journal Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) includes a wealth of measures for determining a journal's scholarly impact:

Impact factor is determined by considering the number of citations an article received in the current year and averaging that number over all articles published in that journal over the previous two years. For example, if a journal's 2014 impact factor is 3.3, articles published in 2013 and 2012 were cited, on average, 3.3 times in 2014.

5-Year Impact Factor is similar to the Impact Factor, but is determined by averaging over the previous five years instead of the previous two.

Immediacy Index is again similar to the Impact Factor, but is determined by averaging the number of citations articles received in the year that they were published.

Eigenfactor score is similar to the 5-Year Impact Factor described above, but citations in journals are weighted using (in part) Google's PageRank algorithm and scaled so that the sum of all Eigenfactor scores in the JCR database is 100.

Article Influence Score looks at the average influence of an article over the first five years after its publication. This metric also uses Google's PageRank algorithm, and adjusted so that the average Article Influence Score in the JCR database is 1.

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) is similar to the Eigenfactor score described above, and considers the average impact of a journal's articles over a three-year time span. Citations are weighted using Google's PageRank algorithm, and the ranks are adjusted so that the average SJR of journals in the Scopus database is 1.

For more information, please refer to the research guide on Measuring Your Research Impact.

Depositing Publications in Open Access Repositories

Why deposit to an Open Access archive?

Open Access archives serve many purposes, but their main benefits are twofold. First, they provide as many scholars as possible with access to your work. This can lead to increased citation counts and a higher academic profile for you, your department, and your institution. The second benefit of Open Access archiving is the preservation of your work for the years to come. These archives give your work a stable, permanent home.

If you submit your articles to arXiv.org, then you are already depositing in an Open Access repository. arXiv sees wide use in the sciences, and current scholarship can often be found there ahead of its publication in journals or elsewhere.

The Wayne State University Libraries maintains its own Open Access repository, DigitalCommons@Wayne, specifically intended to increase access to faculty work and to provide it with a permanent, digital home. It has the added benefit of being indexed in Google, ensuring that your works are discoverable in both Google and GoogleScholar searches.

If you would like any eligible articles submitted to arXiv to be deposited into DigitalCommons@Wayne as well, all we need is your permission to do so. Please contact your liaison librarian using the information on this page if you'd like more information or to give permission to add your arXiv scholarship to DigitalCommons@Wayne.

Research Funding Information

Open Access Journals

Search for Open Fulltext with oaDOI

Learn more about oaDOI