Use databases, primarily, to find scholarly peer-reviewed articles for your research projects -- from undergraduate papers to doctoral dissertations. This page highlights select databases for Latino/a and Latin American Studies. If you need further database recommendations, contact the CLLAS Librarian.
Image: Detail from the cover of the Hispanic American Historical Review, February 2016. Duke University Press.
History
- The Latino American ExperienceComprehensive and informative, The Latino American Experience is dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
- America: History and LifeThe definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Historical AbstractsAn exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Emiliano Zapata on Horseback: Scene from the Mexican Revolution
Artist: José Guadalupe Posada (1852-1913)
Literary Criticism
- MLA International BibliographyThe largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore.
- Literary Resource CenterStrong collection of full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies. Includes analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews.
Also good for literary criticism are Project Muse and JSTOR. More information on these databases are in the box on this page titled "Subject Specific and Interdisciplinary Databases."
Peruvian-American author Daniel Alarcón: CC-BY-SA-4.0
Newspapers
We have access to a vast number of newspapers through news databases. See our guide for newspapers. Highlights include:
- Detroit Free Press (1999 - present) and (1923 - 1999) and (1831 - 1922)
- Detroit News Historical and Current Collection (1873 - present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985 - present) and (1849 - 1986)
- New York Times (1980 - present) and (1851 - 2006)
- Washington Post (1996 - present) and (1877 - 1997)
- Los Angeles Times (1985 - present)
- Ethnic News Watch (full-text articles from newspapers published by ethnic and minority presses in the U.S.)
Subject Specific and Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search CompleteAn enormous collection of full-text journals, covering a very broad range of disciplines in the social sciences, sciences and humanities. This is a good database to search no matter your topic in Latino/a or Latin American Studies.
- Anthropological LiteratureContains articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
- Education Databases (EBSCOHost)Searches a number of different education databases at the same time -- including ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), sponsored by the Institute of Educational Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- JSTORProvides full-text online access to a very large number of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project MuseProvides access to the full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- PsycINFOAn authoritative resource for scholarly literature in behavioral and social science research.
- Sociological AbstractsThe primary database for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Criminal Justice DatabaseFocus is on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteQuality research support in areas related to communication and mass media.
Article Databases - Free Resources
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Provides citations to scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. About 80% of the indexed titles include links to full text sources.
- REDALyCContains full-text open access journals from the social sciences, sciences, and humanities. It incorporates exclusively those journals, from any part of the world, that share the non-profit publishing model in order to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scholarly communication.
- LatindexOnline regional information system for scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
- SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library OnlineSciELO is a free database containing the full text of scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Articles are available in one of three languages: English, Portuguese, or Spanish
- Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades (CLASE)This database has been prepared at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) since 1976. It contains citations and full-text articles.
- DialnetSpanish-language periodical index created by Universidad de Rioja. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Public resource.
- Researching BrazilA tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field. The site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals and contains additional relevant resources, including a news page, an online directory of institutions, a bibliography of print sources, and links to selected websites relevant to researchers.