Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Subject of the Month

A monthly display in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

August 2013

History of Nursign Sign for Display

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy

History of Nursing is an exciting and particularly relevant topic today as we brace for the implementation of the Affordable Care Act and the changes in our healthcare financing and delivery systems it entails- including changes to nursing organization and practice. The selections for this guide include books on nursing history on display in the Purdy-Kresge Library (available for checkout!), selected books and ebooks from our collection, nursing history journal articles, digitized primary sources in the public domain, and information on collections at Wayne State University and other institutions that house historical nursing archival and image collections. I hope you enjoy browsing these selections.

History of Nursing

Original from University of Michigan, via Hathi Trust.

Books at Wayne State University Library

Books and ebooks in our WSU Library collection. Click on the link to access catalog records to the books. If the book is an ebook, you can read it immediately by clicking on the link that says "Connect to this resource." If it's a book available for checkout, click the "Get It!" link at the top of the page to have the book delivered to the library of your choice for pickup, or you can go to the library and retrieve the book from the shelf and check it out.

Primary Source: Florence Nightingale's Notes on Nursing for the Labouring Classes (HathiTrust)

Original from Harvard University

Nightingale, F. (1861).Notes on nursing for the labouring classes.London: Harrison.

Research Collections

Links to research collections that contain primary sources and images about the history of nursing:

History of Nursing in PubMed

Recent articles published on the history of nursing in PubMed. Mouse over each title for additional information:

Loading

Featured Websites on History of Nursing

Historic Photo of Nurse Preparing a Clysis in Supply Room

Nurse Preparing a Clysis in Supply Room, circa 1900

Image from the Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing
Philadelphia General Hospital Photo Collection

Primary Source: Pathfinders