Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

eBooks at Wayne State University

Reading, Downloading, and Printing

eBook Formats

Some platforms allow you to choose the download format. The two most common formats are:

PDF: 

Most devices can read a PDF file, but it may be difficult to read on smaller screens.

ePUB: 

Text flow is adjusted to fit the screen of your device (this may change the pagination). This format is used by Adobe Digital Editions and can be read on most devices including Apple and Android.  an open-standard file format for digital books and one of the most widely supported along with .pdf and .txt.  EPUB eBooks also support embedded content, allowing, for instance, a Flash video to be embedded within an ebook.

Search for eBooks and More

The WSU Libraries have over 1,000,000 eBooks!  

Search across our collections using the Summon search box below. Refine results with filters for resource type, date, subject, and more.


 

Search here for eBooks and more.

Open Source or Free eBooks

There are also many options for free eBooks on the Internet. Here are some of the most popular and well known sites:

Project Gutenberg

Logo for Project Gutenberg

"Offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."

The Internet Archive - Texts

Logo for Internet Archive

"The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books."  Free to download.

Open Library

Open Library Logo

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

Open eBooks

open eBooks official logo

Open eBooks is an app containing thousands of popular and award-winning titles that are free for children from in-need households. These eBooks can be read without checkouts or holds. Children from in-need families can access these eBooks, which include some of the most popular works of the present and past, using the Open eBooks app and read as many as they like without incurring any costs. The goal of Open eBooks is to encourage a love of reading and serve as a gateway to children reading even more often, whether in school, at libraries, or through other eBook reading apps.

Open eBooks is a partnership between Digital Public Library of America, The New York Public Library, and First Book, with content support from digital books distributor Baker & Taylor. This effort is made possible by generous commitments of publishers with funding support provided in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and is part of the White House ConnectED Initiative.

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

Digital Public Library of America

Logo for DPLA

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA is aimed at giving universal access to digital resources of American libraries and archives.

Among contributing institutions there are New York Public Library, University of Michigan, Harvard University, and the LIbrary of Congress.

The Bookshelf catalog includes over 1.6 million items. Perform a search, and from a book detail page you’ll be redirected to a relevant website, where you can further read it online or download.

Europeana

Les Miserables book from Europeana

Europeana

Europeana offers access to millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, and archives.

More than 2,000 European institutions across Europe contribute to the site, including the British Library and national libraries from many countries.

To find free public domain books, search for the author or title, and in the left-side panel narrow results by file type (“text”), and by copyright (“public domain marked”).

More Free Sources