Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068
New Books
The most recent additions to the WSU Library collections in the field of education.

Loading RSS Feed...
Departmental Information
Wayne State University College of Education
Contact Information
Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 577-1601
coesupport@wayne.edu
The College of Education is located in and serves the needs of one of the nation's largest metropolitan areas. Thus, the College reflects the dynamic character of urban life and is sensitive to the special experiences, conditions and opportunities presented by a culturally diverse student body.
Out of the conviction that education is the means by which human circumstances can be improved, the College prepares professionals who have the commitment and competence to help people acquire the knowledge, skills and understandings necessary to participate in and contribute to a complex changing society. To achieve this mission the College is committed to excellence in teaching, research and service.
Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for the College of Education!
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in all Divisions and Programs in the College of Education.
I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to the College of Education. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.
Veronica Bielat, Librarian Liaison for the College of Education
The guide consists of several pages (tabs) detailing our resources available for the Divisions and Programs in the College of Education. Click the arrow key next to Teacher Education Division to access resource guides for all of the certification programs offered through the TED, which include links to online journals, lesson plan resources, teacher support resources and more.
Getting Started with finding Articles, Journals, Books and More
- Education Databases
A list of databases where you can find articles and more. Click the ALL button to see all of the databases available related to the courses and programs offered through the College of Education.
Watch a video on how to search a database. - Education Online Journals
Link to many of the online journals available related to the field of education. Scroll down to the Education area, click on a topic, then select a journal from the list to access the journal contents and articles. If you do not find the journal title you are looking for, search for the title in the Library Catalog or if you are having trouble locating a title or article, ASK-A-LIBRARIAN. - DOAJ Open Access Education Journals The DOAJ is a directory of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Encyclopedias and dictionaries related to the field of education. Includes both print and online resources available through the WSU libraries.
- Videos and DVDs Videos and DVD's related to the field of education, available through the WSU libraries.
- E-handbooks and Reference Works
Online handbooks and reference books on children and adolescents and psychology, interventions, learning theory, teaching theory and more.
Help with APA Style
The College of Education uses the APA 6th Edition style manual for paper and citation formatting. Applying APA style correctly is an important step in preventing plagiarism. These resources can help you if you are unfamiliar with APA style or need clarification on how to properly cite a source.
- Basics of APA Style From the APA website, a series of short tutorials that explain how to format your paper, references, in-text citations and more in APA style.
- APA Exposed This set of tutorials from Harvard's Graduate School of Education demonstrate how and why to use APA style, and gives easy-to-understand examples of in-text citations
Feedback
Liaison Librarian |
Veronica BielatMake an appt. for research consultation: Office Hrs. M-F 9am-5pm
134 Purdy Library
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-4217
fx: (313) 577-3436
email: ag6887@wayne.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Education (TED, AOS, KHSS, TBF); Developmental Disabilities Institute
WSU COE Library and Research News

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait