Departmental Information
Departmental Homepage
http://www.clas.wayne.edu/linguistics/
Contact Information
Linguistics Program
5057 Woodward Suite 10303.1
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-8642
fax: (313) 577-0404
contact: Janelle Wolak linguistics@wayne.edu Assistant to the Director
About the Department
Linguistics is devoted to the scientific study of language structure and use. The Linguistics Program at Wayne State offers an interdisciplinary approach to this field, permitting students to explore a wide range of topics and issues in language research.
Internet Resources
Brings together information about the languages of the world from dictionaries to language tutorials to spoken samples of languages. One of the best sources on individual languages. Coverage of linguistics is less complete.
Print Resources
The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies (1929/30 - )--Latest 10 years in Purdy/Kresge Stacks, PB 1 .Y45
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics,10 vols.-- Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, P 29 .E48 1994
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics,4 vols.--Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, P 29 .I58 1992
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages,--Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, P 29 .C68 1992
Welcome!
Welcome to the Guide for Linguistics!
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Linguistics. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in Linguistics.
I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Linguistics. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.
Judith Arnold
Liaison Librarian for Linguistics
Recommended Databases
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Provides
selective access to the world's literature on language and language
behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.Coverage: 1973-present
(1963 - )
Coverage: Arts and Humanities Search (1980 - )
(1887 - present)
(1963 - present)
(1966-present)
Online Journals
(1996-present)
Specialized Internet Resources
Liaison Librarian |
Judith Arnold![]() |
Contact Info:
1210 Undergraduate Library
Wayne State University Libraries (http://www.lib.wayne.edu/index.php)
Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: 313.577.8368
FAX: 313.577.5265
OFFICE HOURS
I am on campus 9-5:00, M-F.
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English Language & Literature, Honors College
Finding Full Text
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "Search for Article" (ArticleLinker) button
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a red message that the article is not available, use the "Request digital delivery" link below the message and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 48 hours.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving the article, contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.
Use this link to order an article that is NOT available from the WSU Libraries or databases. You will need to fill in citation information in the form provided. NOTE: You can also use this form to order a copy of an article that is in STORAGE at WSU.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait