Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Academic Pathway to Excellence 

This guide is developed for students in the Academic Pathway to Excellence Program. It is intended as a Library resource gateway to introduce you to the Wayne State University Library System, its services and resources.
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/apx  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Wayne State University Libraries!

This guide is to help you learn about the libraries and the many services and resources that they have for you. Use this page to start your research for any of your classes!

When you need help, be sure to Ask-a-Librarian!

 

 

What You Need to Know to Succeed

As you enter your university career you will find that your professors and course assignments will require credible, scholarly sources. To become an effective researcher you will want to learn how to:

  • search the library catalog for books
  • use library databases for finding articles
  • tell the difference between popular and scholarly sources
  • cite your sources using a consistent citation style such as MLA or APA

You will also want to get to know the libraries and their services and learn where to go to find them.

 

Need Help? Ask-a-Librarian

Reference Desks

  • UGL: 313-577-8852
  • Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
  • Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068

Ask-A-Librarian - Contact us by email or phone when we are offline.

 
 

About the Libraries


Loading Video Clip...
 

Search for Books

Search:
Advanced Search
 

How to Search for Books


Loading Video Clip...

Find Articles

These databases cover a wide range of topics and will help you  find a number of full-text scholarly articles to begin your research.

  • Proquest Research Library  
    Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Academic Onefile  
    Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
  • WilsonSelectPlus  
    Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text in periodicals from H.W. Wilson General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Readers' Guide Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Center's resources are divided into topics which contain numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents, and web sites.
 

Finding Articles


Loading Video Clip...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait