Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068
Other Relevant Guides
Departmental Information
Labor Studies Program Homepage
Contact Information
Labor Studies Program
656 W. Kirby 3178 FAB
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-2191
fax: (313) 577-7726
About the Department
The Labor Studies Major prepares students for leadership roles in the labor movement and careers in labor relations.
Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for Labor Studies
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Labor Studies. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.
Rhonda J. McGinnis
Librarian Liaison for Labor Studies
Resources
Full-Text Databases
Business Source Complete (Ebscohost
Proquest Research Library Basic coverage of all subject areas including: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences and women
Project Muse Provides access to the journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Consult the online table of contents for holdings.
America, History and Life Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in print formats.
JSTOR Provides images and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online table of contents for holdings.
Hein-On-Line To eventually provide full text online access to all legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections in a searchable electronic format.
Electronic Indexes and Abstracts
EconLit Produced by the American Economics Association and provides coverage of 620 different economics periodicals with citation information and abstract.
PAIS International Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government and other publications from 120 countries. See PAIS Archive for material previously published in the PAIS Bulletin (1915-1976).
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Records provide citations and abstract of article.
Historical Abstracts Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-Rom version.
Reference works
American Salaries and Wages Survey Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, HD 4973 .A44 1999
Annual Workforce Report Purdy/Kresge Reference Stacks, HD 6305 .M5 M6 2000/01
Employee Benefits Dictionary Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, HD 4928 .N6 B75 1992
Historical Dictionary of Trade Unions Purdy/Kresge Library, HD 6664 .M26 (3 volumes, building use only).
The International Dictionary of the Trade Union Movement Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, HD 6475.2 .C65
Robert's Dictionary of Industrial Relations Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, HD 4839 .R612 1994
Union Sourcebook Purdy/Kresge Library Reference Stacks, HD 6508 .T74 1985
Internet Resources - General Research Guides
Use subject area search to find information on labor and industrial relations.
Internet Resources - Research Institutions
All materials are non-circulating. Please see web site for archival policies. Library holdings are not cataloged in the University catalog system.
Internet Resources - Government Sites
Internet Resources - Labor News Sources
Microfiche Collections
Life and Labor Shelved as Life and Labor in microfilm periodicals
Labor Unity Shelved at Reuther Library. Ask Reference Archivist for assistance.
Pamphlets in American History Labor No call number. Ask at Purdy Reference Desk for assistance.
American Federation of Labor Records pt.1 55 reels, pt.2 38 reels 3724 MCRFILM
Archives of the Works Projects Administration and Predecessors 1933-1943 ser. 1, pts. 1-2, reels 1-13 3795 MICROFILM
Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration 1916-1929 25 reels 3657 MCRFILM
The Papers of A. Philip Randolph 35 reels 3783 MCRFILM
Socialist Party Papers reel 1-142 S1609 MCRFILM
Southern Tenant Farmers' Union papers, 1934-1970 reel 1-60 S1635 MCRFILM
Liaison Librarian |
Rhonda J. McGinnis![]() |
Contact Info:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Labor Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait