Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Management 

Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/management  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  

Need Help?

Reference Desks

  • UGL: 313-577-8852
  • Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
  • Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068

Other Relevant Guides

      

    Departmental Information

    School of Business Administration Homepage

    Contact Information

    200 Prentis Bldg
    Detroit, MI 48202
    (313) 577-4505

    About the School

    Undergraduates in the School of Business Administration have a choice of 6 different majors:  Accounting, Finance, Global Supply Chain Management, Information Systems Management, Management, & Marketing.  At the Graduate level, 4 degrees are offered:  Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Acounting, Master of Science in Taxation, and Ph D. in Business Administration. 

        
       
       

      Welcome!

      Welcome to the guide for Management

      I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Management.  I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.

      I am also available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Business.  You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

      Rhonda McGinnis

      Librarian Liaison for the School of Business Administration

       

      Resources

      Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext

      The coverage offered by this database includes indexing and abstracts for business journals back as far as 1886.

      An excellent source for consumer and business information. It is available to all Michigan residents as part of the state-funded Access Michigan project.

      Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

      Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries.

      Reference works

      Business section includes the Dictionary of Business

      General Guides to Management Resources

      The LSU Library has assembled a resource guide to many high quality internet sites of interest to management researchers, educators, and students. Included are links to court cases involving the American with Disabilities Act (ADA), and the Civil Rights Act; sites involving labor management relations including the Glass Ceiling Commission Reports; information about Total Quality Management (TQM); and pages for the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards.

      This extensive resource guide prepared by the Institute of Management and Administration contains well-organized links to information in the areas of: Competitive Intelligence & Strategy, Corporate Finance and Investment, Credit Management, Design & Construction, Human Resources & Benefits, Information Systems, Insurance &Risk, Purchasing & Facilities Management and Sales & Marketing.

      Entrepreneurship & Small Business

      Many online resources for anyone looking to start or grow a small business.

      Here are some brief and simple guides to get you started on using the World Wide Web for business and course research.

      Access documents about starting, expanding, and financing a small business plus local SBA resources. Also access the Small Business, documents concerning regulatory fairness, and the year 2000 issues. Telnet to the SBA's online BBS.

      Find information on how to get started, marketing, management, financing, and other information.

      Locate a wealth of small business data divided into five sections:
      1. Common Questions: answers to questions that business people frequently ask government;
      2. How-To: contains expert tools, step-by-step guides, and transactions;
      3. Search: helps you find on-line resources and regulations for topics of interest;
      4. Browse: locate data arranged under these topics: Doing Business with the Government, Finance, General Business, International Trade, Labor and Employment, plus Laws and Regulations;
      5. News: current news items including press releases.

      Quality Management

      This site, developed and maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, provides information intended to assist U.S. businesses and non-profit organizations in delivering ever-improving value to customers through continuous quality improvement. It includes information about the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and its framework, core values, criteria, and assessment methods.

       

      Liaison Librarian

      Profile ImageRhonda J. McGinnis


      Online Chat / Networks:

      Contact Info:
      Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
      Wayne State University Library System
      Detroit, MI 48202
      (313) 577-8568
      Send Email

      Subjects:
      Business, Economics, Labor Studies

       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait