Books on Civil War Era Medicine
The Libraries of Wayne State University have a rich collection of books in print on Civil War Medicine. Here is a small selection: (Please see our Guest Borrowing policy.)
In Hospital and Camp by ISBN: 0811716317Publication Date: 1993-03-01Electronic Book, WSU Access ID & Password Required
Debris of Battle by ISBN: 0585268800Publication Date: 1997-01-01Electronic Book, WSU Access ID & Password Required
Letters of a Civil War Surgeon by Call Number: E 527.5 105th .W38 1996ISBN: 1557530920Publication Date: 1996-10-01Located in the Undergraduate Library
Dr. Mary Walker by ISBN: 9780813546117Publication Date: 2009-10-30Electronic Book, WSU Access ID & Password Required
Mary Edwards Walker by Call Number: R 154 .W18 W35 2005ISBN: 0765310651Publication Date: 2005-06-01Located in the Undergraduate Library- Civil War Nurse by Call Number: 134687ISBN: 0870492802Publication Date: 1980-01-01Located in Storage, please request from catalog.
A Confederate Nurse by Call Number: E 625 .B33 1994ISBN: 0872499707Publication Date: 1994-01-01Located in the Purdy/Kresge Library- Hospital Sketches by Call Number: PS 1018 .A42 1984ISBN: 0824065050Publication Date: 1984-01-01Located in the Science & Engineering Library
Articles on African Americans in Medicine
- African American Physicians and Organized Medicine, 1846-1968Published in JAMA online July 10, 2008.
Life & Limb: The Toll of the American Civil War
"...approximately 60,000 surgeries, about three quarters of all of the operations performed during the war, were amputations."
National Library of Medicine
- Life and Limb: The Toll of the American Civil WarOnline exhibition from the National Library of Medicine.
Images from the National Library of Medicine
Digital Collections on Civil War Medicine
Photograph of a Union Army Medicine Pannier
- American Civil War Medicine CollectionThe collections at the University of Alabama Birmingham, especially the Digital Collection below:
Civil War Items from UAB Historical Collections
National Museum of Civil War Medicine
The main location for the National Museum of Civil War Medicine is located in Frederick, Maryland. They offer exhibits on an array of medical issues unique to the Civil War.
Detroit's Medical History
Postcard picture of Detroit College of Medicine, postmarked 1911
Documenting the Historical Experiences of African Americans in Southeastern Michigan
with Regard to Health Care, the Health Professions and the Health Sciences
- Kellogg African American Health Care ProjectIncludes oral histories and other unique information.
- History of Detroit’s Black hospitals detailed in projectAn article about the Kellogg African American Health Care Project in the University Record, November 6, 2000.
- "The Negro in Medicine in Detroit"An article from the Journal of the National Medical Association, November, 1963.
Additional Resources
- African Americans in Medicine: Selected TitlesA bibliography of resources presented by the Library of Congress for their Science Reference Guides Series
- Chronology of Achievements of African Americans in MedicineFrom Duke University Medical Center Library Online. Spans the years 1721 through 2011.
- Black Nurses in History: A Bibliography and Guide to Web ResourcesAn extensive list of resources in print and online from the University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey, Camden Campus Library.
- Black Nurses -- A Historical PerspectiveAn article By M. Elizabeth Carnegie, DPA, RN, FAAN on the Aetna, Inc website.
- Civil War Medicine and the RCHThe Civil War influenced the early history of the Rochester City Hospital in Rochester, NY
- African American RegistryThe First Black Medical Society Founded
History of African Americans and medical societies from the African American Registry.
National Negro Medical Association BeginsInformation about its founding on November 26, 1895. - Opening Doors: Contemporary African American Academic SurgeonsHistory of African Americans in medicine by the National Library of Medicine.
- Slave MedicineFrom the Jefferson Library at Monticello in Virginia.
CBS NEWS- Civil War Medicine
Featured Surgeon
William P. Powell, Jr
He was one of thirteen African American surgeons during the Civil War.
- Face to Face with HistoryPowell was featured in the publication Prologue Magazine from the National Archives and Records Administration.
- African-American Civil War Surgeons - VideoC-Span Video Library, Jill Newmark, from the National Library of Medicine, talks about her research on African American Civil War surgeons in the NARA.
AAHN
- American Association for the History of NursingA professional organization open to everyone interested in the history of nursing.
Books on African Americans in Medicine
The Libraries of Wayne State University have a rich collection of books in print on African American physicians and African American nurses. Here is a small selection: (Please see our Guest Borrowing policy.)
Black Women in White by Call Number: RT 83.5 .H56 1989ISBN: 0253205298Publication Date: 1989-01-01Located in the Science & Engineering Library.- Blacks, Medical Schools, and Society by Call Number: R 695 .C86 1971ISBN: 0472269003Publication Date: 1971-01-01Located in the Purdy/Kresge Library and Science & Engineering Library
Early Black American Leaders in Nursing by Call Number: RT 83.5 .D38 1999ISBN: 0763710091Publication Date: 1999-03-11Located in the Science & Engineering Library and the Undergraduate Library.- A Century of Black Surgeons by Call Number: RD 27.3 .U6 C4 1987ISBN: 0961738006Publication Date: 1991-01-01Two Volume Set, Located in Storage, please request from catalog.
The Path We Tread by Call Number: RT 83.5 .C37 1995ISBN: 0887376401Publication Date: 1995-01-01Located in the Science & Engineering Library and the Undergraduate Library.
