This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Computer Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Science  

A guide to resources in computer science, cybernetics, computer networking.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/csguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books in Computer Science

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Departmental Information

 

Departmental Homepage

WSU Computer Science Department

Contact Information

Address: 5143 Cass Avenue, 431 State Hall Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: (313) 577-2477
Fax: (313) 577-6868

Department Chair

Xuewen Chen

(313) 577-2478

 

About the Department

The Department offers core academic strength in many areas including artificial intelligence, networking, databases, distributed and parallel computing, security, graphics and visualizations, and software engineering. A high-quality, innovative, education, focusing on the fundamentals of computer science while emphasizing technology, prepares students for employment and advanced studies.

      

    Article Databases Best Bets

    These databases are particularly good for research in Computer Science.

     

    • ACM Digital Library
      This site provides subscribers with access to ACM journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
    • ArXiv.org
      Open access to 555,847 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
    • Computer Database
      Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
    • IEEE Xplore
      Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
    • JSTOR
      Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III,IV, V, VI, and VII Collections.
    • MathSciNet
      MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database and has signed reviews, search functionality, and timely updates.
    • ScienceDirect
      One of the world's largest providers of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) literature, ScienceDirect contains over 1700 journal titles, 3 million peer reviewed articles, and 59 million abstracts. Most of the articles in ScienceDirect are available full text.
    • SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
      The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics provides access to thirteen journals published by SIAM. The journals cover the areas of mathematics, optimization, computers, analysis, and other mathematical subjects. Journals can be browsed or keyword searched. Most articles are available full text.
    • Web of Science
      This database integrates journal, patent, proceedings, and life science literature with Web resources and other scholarly content in all disciplines of science. Web of Science contains data from the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index since 1980.
     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    James Van Loon
    Contact Info
    Purdy-Kresge Library
    Room 134
    Phone: 313-577-6446
    Email: jevanloon@wayne.edu
    Send Email
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip