Skip to Main Content
Undergraduate Library
Arthur Neef Law Library Purdy/Kresge Library Reuther Library Shiffman Medical Library Undergraduate Library
Menu

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Sign In

Help
Chat Email CallFAQ Staff Directory Appointments

Taxation: Getting Started

Need Help?

Reference Desks

  • UGL: 313-577-8852
  • Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
  • Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068

Other Relevant Guides

Departmental Information

School of Business Administration Homepage

Contact Information

200 Prentis Bldg
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4505

About the School

Undergraduates in the School of Business Administration have a choice of 6 different majors:  Accounting, Finance, Global Supply Chain Management, Information Systems Management, Management, & Marketing.  At the Graduate level, 4 degrees are offered:  Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Acounting, Master of Science in Taxation, and Ph D. in Business Administration. 

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for Taxation!

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Accounting. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.

Rhonda J. McGinnis

Librarian Liaison for School of Business Administration

Resources

Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext

EBSCOhost Business Source Complete
The coverage offered by this database includes indexing and abstracts for business journals back as far as 1886

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of business and legal information, including: Company news; Legal news; Company financial information; Accounting, auditing & tax information; Law reviews; and Federal/State law.

Practical & Legal Information

RIA Checkpoint
This collection includes the United States Tax Reporter library, State and local tax materials, FASB documents, RIA citator, RIA tax alerts, WG & L journals, and the AICPA Audit and Accounting Guides, Professional Standards & Technical Practice Aids.

CCH Business & Finance
Tracks, reports, explains and analyzes business & finance related law. GAAP Information available under the Securities tab.

CCH Tax
Tracks, reports, explains and analyzes tax law.

FASB Statements
Access to the fulltext of FASB Statements. This site does not permit searching of the statements

Reference works

Oxford Reference Online
Business section contains The Dictionary of Accounting and The Dictionary of Business.

Tax Forms and Publications

1040.com
This page is a good alternative to the IRS site especially during tax time. Current and 1922-1995 prior year forms and publications are available. It also allows users to access state tax forms and instructions from across the country.

IRS -- Forms and Publications
This page, provided by the Internal Revenue Service, lets you download, not only, current federal tax forms and publications but also 1992-1995 prior year tax forms.

Statues, Regulations and Court Rulings

Federal Tax Law
Find links to current and proposed tax legislation, the US Tax Code, tax regulations, court decisions, and US tax treaties at this site.

TaxWeb: Federal and State Tax Research
This is another excellent source for links to federal and state tax legislation, regulations and IRS documents.

TRAC - IRS Web Site
This site provides insightful findings and data on IRS enforcement activities at both the national and district levels. It is also a good source for rankings and comparative statistics on taxpayers and their burden by US county. This site requires that its users complete a free registration form.

U.S. Federal Courts Finder
Find federal court cases by date, party name or topic.

U.S. Income Tax Law
Find U.S. and state laws, federal regulations, and Supreme Court decisions dealing with income tax law.

Specialized Tax Information

FindLaw: Lawyers and Law Firms
This page permits the user to search the West Directory of Lawyers and the Martindale-Hubbard Directory by name, location and/or legal specialty.

Small Business Taxes & Management
This page contains links to articles on taxes, management, personal financial planning published in the Small Business Tax Review. It also provides a variety of tax related reference tables such as corporate and individual tax rates, standard vehicle mileage and lease rates, fringe benefit amounts/limits, and a valuation guide for charitable contributions of property.

www.payroll-taxes.com
This site contains extensive data regarding federal and state payroll taxes and taxing authorities. It also provides all the addresses, phone numbers, form numbers (with explanations), and filing dates for federal and state agencies.

General Tax Information Sites

ABA - Tax Section: Other Related Sites

IRS -- The Digital Daily Homepage
These sites contain relatively similar federal, state, and/or international tax information. Most also contain links to federal/state tax legislation and directories of tax firms, professional associations, and publishers of print or electronic tax tools.

Tax Sites Directory

TaxWeb

TAXWIZARD HOME

Welcome to Tax Help Online

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Subjects: Business, Economics