There is so much to explore at this site. The National Museum of the American Latino focuses primarily on highlighting the U.S. Latino experience, ensuring that the contributions of Latinos in the history, art, culture, and scientific achievement of the United States are researched, documented, presented, and preserved.
Cocina Jaiteca
Larry Yanez
Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of the Wight Art Gallery, University of California, Los Angeles
Use information from websites in your research carefully. Apply a strong protocol of critical analysis to any information you get from a website. Here at Wayne State Libraries, we endorse the SIFT approach for evaluating content found on the web.
Virtual Resources
- Biblioteca Digital PuertorriqueñaThe Puerto Rican Digital Library includes online access to primary source materials such as postcards, drawings, maps, manuscripts, books, and other publications.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeandLoc is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides access to digitized versions of cultural, historical and research materials. [from the dLoc website]
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)LANIC is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. The resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors.
- The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs, New York Public Library [Caribbean, Central and South America]"Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean."
- Organization of American States (OAS)The OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.
- World Digital Library: Latin America and the CaribbeeanThe WDL is a cooperative effort spearheaded by UNESCO and brings together national and university libraries around the world. Although small in holdings, it has the potential for a great number of materials.
Digital Collections
- Latin American Political Campaign Ephemera CollectionPamphlets, posters, and other campaign literature issued primarily by political parties in Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Chile, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, and El Salvador.
Research Guides
A Latinx Resource Guide: Civil Rights Cases and Events in the United States
This Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room research guide focuses on 20th and 21st century American court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American and Puerto Rican communities.
Art
- Latino Art and ArtisitsSmithsonian collections reflect the rich diversity of Latino art and artists. The Smithsonian American Art Museum's growing Latino art collection represents the rich contributions of Latinos to our country from the colonial period to the present with artworks that range from colonial religious works and woven textiles to abstract expressionist paintings and contemporary installations. Artists featured in the collection reflect the diversity of Latino communities in the United States, including artists of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Dominican descent, as well as other Latin American groups with deep roots in the United States. Image credit: El Corazon del Pueblo, from Méchicano 1977 Calendario by Carlos Almaraz
- Latinx ArtSmithsonian American Art Museum
- Our America: The Latino Presence in American ArtSmithsonian American Art Museum
Archives
- Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential MessagesA project of the Latin American Research Resources Project and LANIC containing digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th century.
- Latin American Open Archive Portal (LAOAP)The Latin American Open Archive Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the LARRP, in collaboration with LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive"The Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. "