Skip to main content
Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Law - Contracts: Getting Started

This guide provides an introduction to contract law resources.

Need Help?

Have A Question?

New Books

Recent Law Library Acquisitions

Loading

Departmental Information

Wayne Law offers a Juris Doctor (JD) program leading to the basic degree necessary to practice law; a Master of Laws (LLM) program, designed for practicing lawyers, which leads to an advanced degree in one of three specialized areas; and concurrent-degree programs combining a JD degree with a master’s degree in one of five other subject areas.

The Law School also offers a number of clinical programs and internships, a variety of international study opportunities, and participation in the Intellectual Property Law Institute which is a joint venture among Wayne Law, the University of Windsor in Canada and the University of Detroit Mercy.

Visit Wayne Law
http://www.law.wayne.edu/

Contact Information
Wayne State University Law School
471 West Palmer Street
Detroit, Michigan  48202
Tel: (313) 577-3933
Fax: (313) 577-9016

Other Relevant Guides

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for Contracts Law!

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Contracts Law. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from Law students and faculty.

Featured Resources

Books

 

A Treatise on the Law of Contracts, S. Williston
This thirty-one volume set provides complete coverage of the full range of contract related issues, including informal contracts, offers, acceptance, consideration, capacity of parties, married women, corporations and others, contracts of agents and fiduciaries, contracts for the benefit of third parties, contracts for the sale of goods, the parole evidence rule, usage and custom, express conditions, nonperformance, negotiable instruments, breach, specific performance and other equitable remedies, fraud and misrepresentation, mistake, duress, release, and more. Set includes tables and index volumes and two volumes of forms.
Law Library, KF 801, W53 (1990) updated 2009.


Contracts in a Nutshell, C. Rohwer, A. Skrocki
This West Nutshell provides a concise overview of the subject, with detail on contract formation, interpretation, performance, modification; Statute of Frauds; excusing performance; and remedies.
Law Library,Reserves KF 801.Z9, R62 (2006).


Government Contracts in a Nutshell
A volume in the West
Law Library,Reserves KF 850, K49 (2004).


Michigan Contract Law
This looseleaf volume covers many topics in the Michigan contract law area. In the contract formation area, it covers formation essentials and problems, and the Statutes of Frauds. In the contract interpretation and application area, it covers interpretation; the Parol Evidence Rule; joint and several contracts; modifications; third-party beneficiary contracts; assignment; and delegation. In the warranties, performance and breach area, it covers warranties; disclaimers; limitations; conditions; performance; breach; and excused nonperformance. In the remedies area, it covers damages in breach of contract cases; specific performance; and the equitable remedies of reformation, rescission, and restitution. In the contract drafting and litigation area, it covers drafting contracts and litigating contract disputes.
Law Library Reserves, KFM 4350 .M528 1998 updated 2005.


Michigan Legal Forms (Contracts)
This looseleaf forms book contains the sample forms and drafting considerations that an individual would typically need for most general contract matters, including rescission, modification, indemnification, arbitration, compromise, settlement, and release.
Law Library Reserves, KFM 4268 .M5 2006.


Rules of Contract Law, C.L. Knapp, N.M. Crystal
This course textbook touches on the Uniform Commercial code; the Restatement (2d) of Contracts; and contract drafting.
Law Library, KF 801.Z9, R84 (2005).

 

Subject Guide