Skip to main content

Law - Elder Law - Michigan: Getting Started

Guide to elder law research, includes books, and websites.

Need Help?

Have A Question?

New Books

Recent Law Library Acquisitions


Departmental Information

Wayne Law offers a Juris Doctor (JD) program leading to the basic degree necessary to practice law; a Master of Laws (LLM) program, designed for practicing lawyers, which leads to an advanced degree in one of three specialized areas; and concurrent-degree programs combining a JD degree with a master’s degree in one of five other subject areas.

The Law School also offers a number of clinical programs and internships, a variety of international study opportunities, and participation in the Intellectual Property Law Institute which is a joint venture among Wayne Law, the University of Windsor in Canada and the University of Detroit Mercy.

Visit Wayne Law

Contact Information
Wayne State University Law School
471 West Palmer Street
Detroit, Michigan  48202
Tel: (313) 577-3933
Fax: (313) 577-9016


Welcome to the guide to resources on Michigan elder law.

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research.


Featured Resources


Advancing Smartly: A Legal Handbook for Michigan Women Age 60+
Designed to be used by older women, caregivers, advocates, and family members. Covers: creditors; repairs; misrepresentations; court; insurance; landlord-tenant matters; social security; health; and estate planning.
Law Library KFM 4291 .A3 M368 2001

Advising the Older or Disabled Client
Covers: estate planning; financial planning; Medicare; Medicaid; medical treatment; family law; and discrimination. Also includes forms.
Law Library Reserves Collection, KFM 4291 .A3 A38 2004 with 2006 supplement

Elder Law
Covers: retirement and estate planning; health; discrimination; and, grandparent visitation.
Law Library, KF 390 .A4 J37 2001

Elder law : selected statutes and regulations
U.S. statues and regulations of particular importance to the elderly, with explanations.
Law Library KF 390 .A4 F753b (2007).

Elder law : statutes and regulations
Older People, legal statutes, laws and regulations in the U.S.
Law Library KF 390 .A4 D39 (2007).

Elder Law In A Nutshell 4th Ed.
Covers: overview; health; Medicare; Medicaid; housing; Social Security; veterans
Law Library Reserves Collection, KF 390 .A4 F752 2006

Elder Law: Advocacy For The Aging
Two volume set covers: discrimination; consumer issues; Medicare; Medicaid; health; Social Security; housing; and, veterans
Law Library Reserves Collection, KF 390 .A4 K7 1993 with 2007 supplement

Elder Law: Cases and Materials 3rd Ed.
Law School Text Book
Law Library Course Reserves KF 390. A4 F753 2003 with 2006 supplement

The Lawyer's Guide to Elder Injury and Accident Compensation
Includes: Identifying facts; safety standards; counseling and preparing the client; evaluating injuries
Law Library KF 1257. O73 2004

Understanding Elder Law: Issues In Estate Planning, Medicaid, and Long-Term Care Benefits, L.R. Hunt.
Covers: advance directives; Social Security; veterans
Law Library, KF 390 .A4 H86 2002

Web Resources

Official information and services from the U.S. government For Seniors
This Official website of the U.S. government offers information for seniors on topics such as Age Discrimination in Employment Act, Medicare Modernization Act, Social Security Act; Consumer fraud, elder rights, advocates for nursing home residents;and issues regarding Pension plans, benefits calculator, retirement ages etc.

American Association of Retired People
Besides general interest articles for older adults, this web site contains excellent research reports on topics such as Medicare, Prescription Drug Plans, Financial Planning.

ABA Commission on Law and Aging
Provides information on legislative updates, publications, CLE & conference materials related to elder law.

Administration on Aging
Official U.S. Government site provides excellent information on services for elderly and their care givers.

Subject Guide

Beth Applebaum