Film Studies/Media Studies

This guide is designed to help Film Studies students in the English Department, as well as Media Studies students in the Communication Department.

Librarian Liaison

Diane Sybeldon
Contact:
If you would like to make an appointment please contact me at
Email: ac7255@wayne.edu
Phone: 313-577-4480
My office location is in
2210 Undergraduate Library
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48202

Film Studies, Film, and Media Arts & Studies at WSU

English Department
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences:

Film Studies:
http://www.clas.wayne.edu/
filmstudies/

Department of Communication
College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts:

Film:
http://comm.wayne.edu/
filmstudies.php

Media Arts and Studies
http://www.comm.wayne.edu/
media.php

Using the Libraries

Welcome to the guide for Film Studies/Media Arts and Studies!

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.

I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with your research. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

Diane Sybeldon

Librarian Liaison

Featured Resource: Kanopy Streaming

KANOPY is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films.
Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Link to Kanopy Streaming

WATCH THE CRITERION COLLECTION ONLINE!
The collection includes 350 films.
Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest award-winning early cinema, foreign cinema and Hollywood films from around the world. The foundation of the collection is the work of such masters of cinema as Renoir, Godard, Kurosawa, Cocteau, Fellini, Bergman, Tarkovsky, Hitchcock, Fuller, Lean, Kubrick, Lang, Sturges, Dreyer, Eisenstein, Ozu, Sirk, Bunuel, Powell and Pressburger. Each film is presented uncut, as its maker intended it to be seen.
Link to online films in the Criterion Collection

WATCH CALIFORNIA NEWSREEL DOCUMENTARIES ONLINE!
This collection includes over 160 films.
The California Newsreel Collection features the best fims from their library. Included in the collection are impactul films such as Race - The Power of an Illusion, Black Gold, Frantz Fanon: Black Skin, White Mask, and others. California Newsreel produces cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences.

The California Newsreel Collection features the best fims from their library. Included in the collection are impactul films such as Race - The Power of an Illusion, Black Gold, Frantz Fanon: Black Skin, White Mask, and others. California Newsreel produces cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences.
Link to online films in the California Newsreel collection

(The above information is from the Kanopy Streaming web site)

 

New Videos in the WSU Film Collection

Loading

Local Independent Houses