This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Film Studies/Media Arts and Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies/Media Arts and Studies  

This guide is designed to help Film Studies students in the English Department, as well as Media Arts & Studies and Film students in the Communication Department.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/film Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Resource: DVDs from the Criterion Collection

The library's media collection includes over 500 DVDs from the Criterion Collection.

Films from the collection are available for checkout at the Undergraduate Library Checkout Desk.

If you're not familiar with Criterion, here is a description, from their web site:

"Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions that offer the highest technical quality and award-winning, original supplements...The foundation of the collection is the work of such masters of cinema as Renoir, Godard, Kurosawa, Cocteau, Fellini, Bergman, Tarkovsky, Hitchcock, Fuller, Lean, Kubrick, Lang, Sturges, Dreyer, Eisenstein, Ozu, Sirk, Buñuel, Powell and Pressburger. Each film is presented uncut, in its original aspect ratio, as its maker intended it to be seen. Every time we start work on a film, we track down the best available film elements in the world, use state-of-the-art telecine equipment and a select few colorists capable of meeting our rigorous standards, then take time during the film-to-video digital transfer to create the most pristine possible image and sound. Whenever possible, we work with directors and cinematographers to ensure that the look of our releases does justice to their intentions. Our supplements enable viewers to appreciate Criterion films in context, through audio commentaries by filmmakers and scholars, restored director’s cuts, deleted scenes, documentaries, shooting scripts, early shorts, and storyboards. To date, more than 150 filmmakers have made our library of Director Approved DVDs, Blu-ray discs, and laserdiscs the most significant archive of contemporary filmmaking available to the home viewer."
To link to their web site: http://www.criterion.com/

To view the complete list of Criterion DVD's, click on the link below...

 

Using the Libraries

Welcome to the guide for Film Studies/Media Arts and Studies!

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.

I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with your research. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

Diane Sybeldon

Librarian Liaison

 

New Videos in the WSU Film Collection

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Local Art Houses

  • Detroit Film Theatre
    The Detroit Institute of Arts' long running film program.
  • Landmark Theatres
    Includes show times and synopses for films playing at Royal Oak's Main Art Theatre and the Maple Art Theatre in Bloomfield Hills.

    -----------------------------------

Classic Detroit Movie Palaces

  • Detroit Movie Palaces
    Lots of information on three of the Detroit area's old 1920s movie palaces that still showcase films - the Detroit Film Theatre, the Redford Theatre and the Michigan Theater (in Ann Arbor.) Also includes a link
    to other venues that show classic and foreign films.

Librarian Liaison

Profile Image
Diane Sybeldon
Contact Info
If you would like to make an appointment please contact me at
Email: ac7255@wayne.edu
Phone: 313-577-4480
My office location is in
2210 Undergraduate Library
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48202
Send Email
 

Film Studies, Film, and Media Arts & Studies at WSU

English Department
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences:

Film Studies:
http://www.clas.wayne.edu/
filmstudies/

Department of Communication
College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts:

Film:
http://comm.wayne.edu/
filmstudies.php

Media Arts and Studies
http://www.comm.wayne.edu/
media.php

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip