Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for Finance & Investments
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Finance. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.
Rhonda J. McGinnis
Librarian Liaison for the School of Business Administration
Other Relevant Guides
Reference Works
- Oxford reference online. Premium Business section includes:
*Dictionary of Business
*Dictionary of Economics
*Dictionary of Finance and Banking.
Departmental Information
School of Business Administration Homepage Contact Information 200 Prentis Bldg About the School Undergraduates in the School of Business Administration have a choice of 6 different majors: Accounting, Finance, Global Supply Chain Management, Information Systems Management, Management, & Marketing. At the Graduate level, 4 degrees are offered: Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Acounting, Master of Science in Taxation, and Ph D. in Business Administration.
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4505
Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext
- Business Source Complete This database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Tutorial for Basic Search
Tutorial for Advanced Search
NOTE: The video tutorials refer to the database as Business Source Corporate and/or references corporate users but searching is exactly the same as the version we have here at Wayne State. - EconLit Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the … [full description]American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.
Financial & Statistical Information
- Mergent FIS Online Fully searchable data on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges. All financials "as reported", providing unparalleled review of balance sheets, income statements, expenditures, assets, liabilities, cash flow, performace trends, and more.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Company fianacial information and Securites & Exchange Commission filings can be accessed by clicking on the Business link found along the lefthand side of the page.
Securities & Exchange Filings
- SEC Edgar DatabaseThis site maintained by the Securities and Exchange Commission provides searchable access to the financial data contained in all corporate filings made electronically with the SEC since 1994.
- Descriptions of SEC FormsFrom the S-1 to the through the 8-K and 10-Q to the 13-FE, find out who needs to file and roughly what information can be found within each type of document.
General Finance & Investment Resources
- OSU Virtual Finance LibraryThis incredibly comprehensive site has links of interest to individual investors as well as researchers, educators, and students in the field of finance. There are also links to the home pages of commercial and investment banks, insurance companies, stockbrokers and U.S. and foreign stock markets.
Stock & Mutual Fund Resources
- Google FinanceGoogle Finance offers a broad range of information about North American stocks, mutual funds and public and private companies along with interactive charts, news, ratios, and fundamental financial data.
- Yahoo! FinanceContains pages for companies traded on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stock exchanges. Each page contains basic company contact information, profile, and stock data plus links to the company's homepage (where available), SEC filings, press releases, and stock quotes & analyses.
- MSN Money InvestingThis site is comparable to Yahoo! Finance and Google: Finance
- Big ChartsA wonderfully comprehensive and easy-to-use online charting Web site. It gives the end-user access to charts, reports, indicators and quotes on over 24,000 US stocks, mutual funds and major market indexes. This site also contains a historical quotes search feature, where one can find the closing price of a stock on a specified date back to 1985
- MorningstarThis site allows one to learn about investing then plan, research, and monitor a portfolio of both stock and mutual funds.
Requires a FREE registration. - Brill's Mutual Funds InteractiveThis site is useful for finding profiles of fund managers, links to mutual fund homepages and market analysis, opinions and recommendations from leading mutual fund experts.
- About the Dow Jones AveragesProvides current and historical information on the various Dow Jones averages including the component stocks and the day's high, low, and close figures for any date since 1896. There are also timeline graphs showing the reaction of the DJIA to U.S. and world events for each decade of the Twentieth Century.
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Rm 2210 Adamany Undergraduate Library Wayne State University Library System Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 577-8568 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068


Loading...
