Power Searching in Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a powerful tool for locating articles and books for research papers. Watch this video to understand what kinds of resources you can find in Google Scholar, power searching tools to help you narrow your search, and helpful tools available in the Google Scholar search results page.
- Power Searching ToolsHandout with explanation of Boolean, Google Advanced Searching, Wildcards
Accessing Articles through Open Access and JSTOR Register & Read
There are ways to locate quality scholarly resources free on the internet, but it can be challenging to find them by just searching the internet with Google or other search engines. Watch this video to learn about Open Access and the resources you can use to find scholarly articles and books online.
- Finding Open Access Articles & BooksClick this link to get to a variety of resources that provide access to scholarly articles and books.
- Finding Journals in Other LanguagesThe DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) provides access to scholarly journals published around the world. Use the limits on the left side of page to limit to journals in a specific language.
The MyJSTOR Register & Read program allows you to set up an account in JSTOR, and access full-text of over 1,200 journals.
MyJSTOR Register & Read lets you create a bookshelf, and have access to read up to 6 articles for 30 days (Note--this access has been expanded due to COVID). After 30 days, the selected articles are removed, and you can add an additional 6 items to your bookshelf.
Discover Open Access Books
- Directory of Open Access BooksThis searchable directory allows you to locate academic, peer reviewed open access books.from participating publishers.
- Pressbooks DirectoryDirectory of over 5,000 Creative Commons licensed books published across 140 Pressbooks networks.
- Berghahn Open Access TitlesScholarly books in the humanities and social sciences, spanning History, Social & Cultural Anthropology, Archaeology, Mobility Studies, Environmental Studies, and Film Studies.
- Lever PressLever Press is supported by member academic institutions and produces quality open access peer-reviewed books in the humanities.
- MIT Press OpenOver 100 titles published by MIT Press.
- National Academies PressOver 9,000 open access books available in downloadable PDF format.
- Routledge/Taylor & Francis Open Access BooksOpen Access monographs in Arts & Humanities, Education, Social Science & Stem.
- JSTOR and ARTSTOR Open and Free ContentIncludes journals, books, images, media and research reports.
- Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University) Open AccessOpen Access books and journals from Project Muse.
- Springer Open AccessOver 1,000 open access ebooks from SpringerLInk publishing.
- WayneOpenAccess to 59 out-of-print titles from the Wayne State University press highlight Jewish and regional studies.
Borrowing WSU Library Books through MeLCat (Michigan Electronic Library Catalog)
MeLCat is a service of the Michigan Electronic Library (MeL). You can use MeLCat to request books from over 100 libraries in the state of Michigan, including Wayne State University, Michigan State University, and the University of Michigan. Use your local public library card to request books, and pick them up at your local public library.
Important News about MelCat borrowing
Detroit Public Library does not participate in MelCat. If you are a Detroit or Highland Park Resident, you can borrow books directly from Detroit Public Library. You can search the Detroit Public Library catalog for books here.
To find out if your library is a participating MelCat member, check this link https://libcoop.net/slc/member-library-directory/
Learn more about using MeLCat by watching the video below.
Use this link to get to mel.org