Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for Marketing & Advertising Resources!
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Marketing & Advertising. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.
I am also available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Business. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.
Rhonda McGinnis
Librarian Liaison for the School of Business Administration
Other Relevant Guides
Reference Works
- Oxford reference online. Premium Business section includes The Dictionary of Business.
Departmental Information
School of Business Administration Homepage
Contact Information
200 Prentis Bldg
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4505
About the School
Undergraduates in the School of Business Administration have a choice of 6 different majors: Accounting, Finance, Global Supply Chain Management, Information Systems Management, Management, & Marketing. At the Graduate level, 4 degrees are offered: Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Acounting, Master of Science in Taxation, and Ph D. in Business Administration.
Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext
- Business Source Complete This database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Tutorial for Basic Search
Tutorial for Advanced Search
NOTE: The video tutorials refer to the database as Business Source Corporate and/or references corporate users but searching is exactly the same as the version we have here at Wayne State. - Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Academic Onefile An excellent source for consumer and business information. It is available to all Michigan residents as part of the state-funded Access Michigan project.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- EconLit Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries.
Advertising Resources
- AMIC - Advertising Media Internet CenterA leading web site for media and marketing professionals. Anyone interested in the activities of advertising media planners, buyers, sellers, and researchers will also find AMIC a useful information source.
Membership is required for many of the services on the AMIC site. There is no charge for becoming a member of AMIC simply complete the online registration form. - AdbrandsThe "Company Profiles" section contains information on over 1,000 companies and 20,000 consumer brands.
Be aware that, while some information on this site is available free of charge, much of the detailed information (including the "Account Assignments") requires a paid subscription. - AdForumThis site is particularly useful for its Online Agency Preview, a searchable database of advertising agencies and their creative work. It is searchable by name, size, network, key personnel, account list, awards list, areas of expertise, and location. You can also search and view samples of the agencies' creative work.
Market Segments
- Abbott Wool's Market Segment ResourcesThis site provides access to information on various ethnic, lifestyle or lifestage market segments including the contact information for agencies and research firms specializing in, marketing services directed toward, and government or educational information related to these groups.
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Rm 2210 Adamany Undergraduate Library Wayne State University Library System Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 577-8568 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068


Loading...
