Skip to main content
Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Shiffman - Medical Reference Tools and Services: Getting Started

General resources for medical dictionaries, encyclopedias, practice guidelines, and information about the NIH Public Access Policy.

Medical Library Help?

Email


Reference Desk

Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
320 E. Canfield St
Detroit, MI

Reference by Appointment

Librarians from the Shiffman Medical Library are pleased to offer reference and research consultations by appointment.

To set up an individual appointment with a librarian, please email us at askmed@wayne.edu

NIH Policy

 

Information about the NIH Public Access Policy is available here.

Learn more about Scholarly Communications@WSU.

Mobile Access

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

Welcome!

About this Guide

  • This guide consists of several pages (tabs) featuring frequently used medical Reference resources in the following areas:
  • Citation Guides
  • Dictionaries
  • Encyclopedias
  • License Look-Up (verify health provider credentials, etc.)
  • Clinical practice guidelines
  • Statistics
  • Tools for tracking citations
  • Information about the NIH Public Access Policy

 

We are here to help: either online, by phone, or in person!

 

By Phone

  • Call us at (313) 577-1094 to speak with a librarian. 

 

By Email

  • Please email us at askmed@wayne.edu
  • Email is checked throughout the day between 9am and 6pm, Monday through Friday.
  • While we respond to most questions within 24 hours, response time will depend on the nature of the question.

 

By Appointment

  • Need help with a more complex research question or database search?
  • Individual consultations are available by appointment, please contact us via email at askmed@wayne.edu to schedule a consultation.

PubMed@Wayne

Reliable Health Information

MedlinePlus

Free resource for the general public maintained by the National Library of Medicine, a part of the National Institutes of Health, which includes:

  • Information on over 800 health topics
  • Illustrated medical encyclopedia
  • Information about drugs
  • Interactive patient tutorials
  • Latest health news