This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

The is the subject guide for Philosophy
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need Help?

Chat or Email

AskALibSmall

Reference Desks

  • UGL/Undergraduate: 313-577-8852
  • Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-642

Send email to Paul Beavers, philosophy liaison

WSU Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy Homepage

Contact Information

Philosophy 
5057 Woodward Ave.  
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-2474
fax: (313) 577-2077
contact: Robert Yanal  , Chair
R.Yanal@wayne.edu

About the Department

The Wayne State University Philosophy Department boasts a distinguished and ongoing tradition of pursuing analytic philosophy in a spirited, lively, and productive fashion. The Philosophy Department offers courses of study leading to the B.A. degree with a major or a minor in Philosophy, at the undergraduate level, and the M.A. and Ph.D. degrees, at the graduate level.

Department of Philosophy Faculty

Department of Philosophy Special Events


      
     

    Welcome!

    Welcome to the guide for philosophy.

    I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in philosophy. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in ther Philosophy Department.

    I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to philosophy. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

    Alexandra Sarkozy

    Librarian Liaison for philosophy.

    The guide consists of several pages (tabs) detailing our resources in these areas:

    • Articles and Databases concerning the WSU bibliographic databases with which articles on philosophy can be identified
    • Online Journals concerning the retrieval of online articles
    • Print Journals concerning the WSU print journal collection
    • Books concerning the WSU book collection on philosophy as well as the availability of additional books through interlibrary loan
    • Reference Works concerning encyclopedias and dictionaries of philosophy available in the WSU collections
    • Web Sites offering a collection of web links to philosophy related sites beyond WSU
    • Videos offering a compendium of videos concerning library research and philosophy.
     

    Feedback

    Please take a few moments and express your opinions.

    I am paticularly interested in anything you hoped to find in this guide that was not provided.

    I am also interested in your recommendations for links to resources in philosophy beyond the WSU campus.

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Alexandra Sarkozy
    Contact Info
    134 Purdy Library
    5244 Gullen Mall
    313/577-8672
    Send Email
    Subjects:
    Nursing
     

    New Books

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip