This is the "General Resources" page of the "Starting a New Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Starting a New Business  

This guide contains resources to assist entrepreneurs in Michigan with writing Business Plans, perfoming market research, & understanding the legal niceties.

.

This guide was prepared by LIS Practicum student, Beth Applebaum.

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/startup Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

FEDERAL RESOURCES

  • U.S. Small Business Administration
    The SBA website provides free resources for small businesses. The SBA homepage is divided into Tabs that provide comprehensive information and articles on Starting and Managing a Business, Loans and Grants, Contacting and Counseling and Training. There is a search box for the entire site in the upper right corner of the home page. The Loans and Grants section allows a search by zip code for funding opportunities.

STATE OF MICHIGAN RESOURCES

  • Michigan Business One Stop Resource Center
    The State of Michigan provides tools for setting up a business in Michigan as well as “Michigan Business News”. A onetime brief registration is required. There are several helpful video tutorials on the homepage and instruction on how to benefit from using One Stop.
  • Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)
    DELEG is responsible for licensing and regulation of all business in Michigan. Any person seeking to form a business entity will find the necessary information and forms on the website. There is an online Business Search directory that lists all businesses registered with the State of Michigan. The Enforcement Division and Licensing Divisions have information and forms for licensing and regulation of professions, occupations, businesses and services.
  • Michigan Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth (DELEG)
    DELEG is responsible for licensing and regulation of all business in Michigan. Any person seeking to form a business entity will find the necessary information and forms on the website. There is an online Business Search directory that lists all businesses registered with the State of Michigan. The Enforcement Division and Licensing Divisions have information and forms for licensing and regulation of professions, occupations, businesses and services.

  • Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center
    The Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center (MI-SBTDC) provides counseling, training, research and advocacy for new ventures, existing small businesses and technology companies. MI-SBTDC has offices statewide. The website provides information about the calendar of events, workshops and training. The events can be searched by location and/or topic. You must establish an account on the website to register for training or an event. Some events are free and others require a fee. A

OTHER RECOMMENDED WEBSITES

  • Small Business Resource Center
    Recommended for: Small business owners/entrepreneurs and general user. Full-text. Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
  • Yahoo Small Business
    In multimedia format, this website provides comprehensive free information and resources for starting, funding and operating a small business. Web hosting and other e-commerce services are available for reasonable fees. It is well organized and includes a standard search box for all the materials on the website.
  • Nolo Press
    Nolo offers hundreds of free articles on legal topics. The articles are generally accurate, up to date, and written in plain English. It is well organized and includes a standard search box for all the materials on the website. Although Nolo promotes “Do It Yourself”, it is not a substitute for professional legal advice.

PRINT MATERIALS AND EBOOKS

  • How to Start a Business in Michigan 4th Edition by Edward A. Haman, Mark Warda.
    Written by attorneys, this book is intended to give you the framework for opening a business in Michigan. It also includes information on where to find special rules for various types of businesses. The book is comprehensive and written in plain English. It covers all aspects of starting a business, including choosing the form, market research, legal issues, financial and tax issues and advertising. There are blank forms and sample completed forms. The authors state that if you have legal que
  • Small Business Sourcebook (Print)
    This book lists industry associations, government agencies, publications, trade shows, training sources, and other essential information for a wide range of small businesses.
    Purdy-Kresge Library
    Call No. HD 2346 .U5 S66
    Latest edition in REFERENCE.
  • Entrepreneur Magazine’s Start Up Guides (Print Series)
    Step by step start-up information on many different kinds of businesses.
    Entrepreneur Press. Print and online by purchase/subscription.
    Southfield Public Library has a large collection.
  • Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources (Print)
    This book identifies live, print and electronic sources of information listed under alphabetically arranged subjects--industries and business concepts and practices

Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Rhonda J. McGinnis
Contact Info
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip