Wayne State University
Menu
Help
Sign In
All libraries are closed until further notice. Support is available online.

Rare Books and Special Collections in the WSULS

About the Collection

The Rouge River Archive is a collection of reports, conference proceedings, and other documents related to efforts to remediate and manage the watershed of the Rouge River in Southeastern Michigan (see map from Friends of the Rouge). Items in the collection were published by a variety of government agencies and consultants between 1955-1995; the focus of the collection is the period between 1978-1995 when efforts to manage pollution and flooding in the watershed gained momentum.

Topics represented in the collection include:
  • hydrology
  • storm water management
  • wetlands and watershed management
  • illegal discharge
  • control of combined sewer overflows
  • sampling and monitoring
  • public education and involvement

The items in the Rouge River archive were originally collected by Dr. Ralph Kummler (former chair of Wayne State's Department of Chemical Engineering) and transferred to the WSU Library System for curation. Dr. Kummler collected the material with the assistance of WSU departments and faculty including:

  • Biological Sciences (Dr. Donna Kashian)
  • Chemistry (Dr. Judy Westrick)
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering (Drs. Thomas Heidtke, Carol Miller and Shawn McElmurry)
  • Geological Science (Dr. Mark Baskaran)
  • Pharmacy & Health Science (Dr. David Pitts)
  • School of Medicine - Physiology (Dr. Jeffrey Ram)

Rouge River - Images from the Virtual Motor City collection

How to find RRA items in the WSU library catalog

Items in the Rouge River Archive special collection are identified in the library catalog using the following searches:

  • Location = "Purdy-Kresge Rouge River Archive", or
  • Added Title = "Rouge River Archive"

Click here to view a list of all items in the RRA special collection.

SEMCOG Records at the Reuther Library

The Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) archive at WSU's Reuther Library contains a significant number of documents related to efforts to control pollution and improve water quality in Southeastern Michigan during the period from 1980-2000.

Click here to link to the SEMCOG page at the Reuther library. The finding aid for Reuther's SEMCOG archive is at the bottom of the page, or use this direct link to the finding aid.

How to Access the RRA special collection

The Rouge River Archive special collection (formerly located on the 4th floor of the Science & Engineering Library) has been relocated to Purdy-Kresge Library,  Room 133.  Usage of the materials is limited to the Purdy-Kresge Library building.

Phone or visit the Purdy circulation desk (313-577-4043) for further information on how to access materials from this collection.

Rouge River Watershed Council (1978-1995)

Rouge River Watershed Council Logo