All libraries remain closed, but we're here to support you remotely: COVID-19 Updates from the Library System

TED 2250 - Becoming an Urban Educator

Liaison Librarian

Karen Liston's picture
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
When I'm available, you can reach me through Zoom at 313 577 5596. If I recognize you in the waiting room, I'll let you in. Send me an e-mail before-hand if you can.

Scholarly and Practitioner (Trade)

Group Activity

Each group contains a link to a peer reviewed scholarly journal and a peer reviewed practitioner publication.

For the group you have been assigned, open each of the links and review the publications. Answer the following questions:

1. Which of the publications do you believe is scholarly, and which is practitioner?

2. What are two substantive similarities between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).

3. What are two substantive differences between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).

4. Is there a professional organization affiliated with your publication? If yes, who are they?

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for TED2250

This guide contains Wayne State University Library System resources to support the coursework in TED2250.

Social Justice in Education: Reference and Recommended Sources

Scholarly Versus Popular Articles

Developing Keywords

You can download a blank copy of the worksheets used in class.

Some keywords to consider when searching:

"Community Attitudes" "School Community Relationship" Poverty
"Community Characteristics" "Educational Quality" "Low Income"
"Social Characteristics" "Access to Education" Socioeconomic
"Social Problems" "Economic Factors" "Racial Differences"
"Social Justice" "Economically Disadvantaged" "At Risk"

Using Keywords to Search

Social Justice

Finding Articles

Searching Summon

Summon is a library discovery search engine. Use Summon to search almost all of the library's full-text article holdings, plus books and ebooks, at one time.

Search here for articles, books, and more.

 

Subject Specific Database: ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

Specialized Database: GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context

This database provides access to scholarly, practitioner and popular articles, video, images, statistics and more, and specializes in covering content related controversial topics.

Linking to Full Text

Look for the ArticleLinkerin the databases or a link that says Full Text@Wayne to access Full-Text, or order items that are not available in full text for electronic delivery to your WSU e-mail address

Data Sources for Michigan and Detroit Public Schools

Statistics Resources for the State of Michigan
Statistics Resources for Detroit Public Schools and Southeast Michigan

Other Tools You Can Use

Help with Citing Sources