Need Help?
Please let the librarian helping you know you are an AP Student. If you are using email, please put AP student in the subject line of the email.
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Finding Articles in Wayne State Library Databases
The following are licensed Wayne State library databases. You must be on-campus to access these resources.
Psychology & Sociology
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowWith a focus on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Politics, Foreign and Government Policy
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
Journalism, Media & Communication
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles related to communications and mass media, including messaging in advertising, how people interpret media and outside communications, interpersonal communication.
Literature and Humanities
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
Recommended Databases (MeL) (Freely Available to Michigan Residents)
Remember that Mel has several databases you can use to locate articles and other information sources for your extended essay research. Here are a few suggestions:
- Academic Search CompleteA database that provides access to articles from journals, magazines and newspapers,video and images. (Primary and secondary sources)
Apps to Find Full-Text
Because of paywalls, you may not be able to access the full text of an article you find. Here are some apps to use to see if you can find the article online in an institutional repository or other publicly accessible space.
- KopernioKopernio is a chrome browser plug-in you can use to try to find the full-text of an article.
- Open Access ButtonA chrome extension that helps you connect to full-text articles.