Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHAPS Workshop: Sources for Statistics and Data

Social Explorer

Use Social Explorer to explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact. You can also upload your own data for visualization.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracts of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. 

ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR also collaborates with a number of funders, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations, to create thematic data collections accessible through its interface.

Historical Statistics of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States provides searchable access to the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. volumes from 1878 to 2012. All tables are available as downloadable Excel spreadsheets. The Table of Contents provides topical access to essays with linked table references on topics ranging from health to slavery and abolition, to crime and the Confederate States of America, placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

Roper Ipoll

Roper iPoll  is a data source for US public opinion questions and answers from polls on important issues facing the country. Coverage from 1935 to present.  The Roper Center does not conduct surveys; it is a library of survey data collected by others; the Center archives and makes their findings available to a broader research community. The Polling results include academic, commercial and media (news) survey organizations, including AARP, Consumer Reports, the Washington Post and more. Here is a list of contributors to Roper iPoll.

OECD Statistics

OECD iLibrary provides access to 3,500 international statistical datasets for 80 countries in 17 thematic collections. Datasets are downloadable in .csv and Excel formats.