Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

February 2015

 

Black History Month Feb 2015

Selector: Anne Hudson

This year's annual Black History Month Theme is:  A Century of Black Life, History and Culture. The print books on display in the Purdy Library and the electronic resources provided in this guide have been selected to provide information about the people and organizations involved in promoting African American History over the last 100 years. Certainly a focal point of the online guide will be a study of Carter Woodson who founded the Association for the study of African American Life and History in 1915. I hope you enjoy the information provided.

 

Featured Databases February 2015

African American Experience Database

 

 

 

 

E Books

Featured Videos February 2015

Black History Month Events

African American Music, Art, and Literature

 


National Gallery of Art

 

National Museum of African American Music - http://nmaam.org/ 

National Gallery of Art - https://www.nga.gov/collection/gallery/ggafamer/ggafamer-main1.html

Detroit Institute of Arts - http://www.dia.org/art/african-american.aspx

Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History - http://thewright.org

Archie Givens Sr. Collection of African American Literature - https://www.lib.umn.edu/scrbm/givens

 

Carter Woodson

 

 

http://www.naacp.org/pages/naacp-history-Carter-G.-Woodson - Biographical information about the "Father of Black History"

http://www.africanamericanhistorymonth.gov/woodson.html - A profile of Carter G. Woodson

 

Selma

Photo of March from Selma to Montgomery

http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/eyewitness/html.php?section=2 - Documents from John Lewis, a participant in the March from Selma to Montgomery.

http://www.americaslibrary.gov/jb/modern/jb_modern_selma_1.html - Description of the events leading up to the March "Bloody Sunday" Alabama State Police attack on John Lewis and other Voting Rights protestors.

Featured Websites, February 2015

ASALH Logo


http://asalh100.org/ - The Association for the study of African American Life and History, founded in 1915 by Carter G. Woodson.

http://nmaahc.si.edu/About - The Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC is currently building a National Museum of African American History and Culture. Some of the online collections are already live and searchable.

http://nul.iamempowered.com/what-we-do - The National Urban League promoted the Harlem Renaissance.

http://www.nypl.org/about/locations/schomburg/digital-schomburg/online-exhibitions - The Schomburg Research Center in Black Culture has a digital collection freely available.

http://library.howard.edu/MSRC - Howard University's Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is an excellent research source for materials about the Black experience.