Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When creating your digital project, it's important that you respect copyright when choosing materials to use in your site. What does that mean?
- TL;DR You cannot just find images using Google and put those in your exhibit.
- Why not?
- Because of international laws called copyright.
- What is copyright?
- Copyright is an author's reserved right to make copies of a creative work. If you were to publish an image or book, would it be ok for someone else to copy it and sell it and not share the proceeds or credit with you? That's why we have copyright.
- How can I know if it's legal to use something I found online that I'd like to use in my exhibit?
- Great question!
- There's no single rule about what is and what is not "ok" to use in your exhibit, and requires you to use your own judgment.
- For classroom assignments like this, there exists in copyright law a "fair use" exemption for using copyrighted materials for educational purposes.
- For this project, we're going to follow the Fair Use Guidelines for Educational Multimedia.
- The guidelines specify that you can use only small portions of works, outlined in this Fair Use Table.
- Where can I find copyright-free, public domain, or open access materials, so I don't have to worry about copyright?
- Many cultural and educational institutions put content from their collections online, with copyright information attached.
- Start with those. They're in the next column over. If you want to use something current or popular that is under copyright, then we can invoke fair use on a limited basis, according to the Fair Use Table.
- How can I learn more about copyright and fair use?
- The University of Texas Libraries have an excellent Copyright Crash Course that outlines major issues in educational contexts.
- If you have any questions, please reach out to a librarian! Any librarian! We all know all about copyright, and can help you figure out if something is kosher for you to use or not.
- How do I reach a librarian?
- You can contact a librarian 24/7 by instant messenger or text message; during regular hours by email, phone, or stopping by the reference desk.
- My email is firstname.lastname@example.org. My name is Alexandra. I'm happy to chat with you about copyright, digital scholarship, this assignment, or anything else related to the library.
Great Places to Find Exhibit Items/Primary Sources
Digital Public Library of America
"Discover 36,807,992 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States"
HathiTrust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
Free Music Archive
Online repository of copyright free or creative commons-licensed music and sounds.
"Explore 58,222,931 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives."
"The internet’s source of freely usable images."
Open access photographs from cultural institutions and regular folks.
WSU Libraries Summon
Summon is search engine that searches nearly all of our licensed print and electronic content at the same time.
U.S. National Archives YouTube channel
Videos from the U.S. National Archives collections.
Library of Congress YouTube channel
Videos from the Library of Congress collections.
Google Images Advanced Search
Scroll to the bottom of the page, and select "free to use or share" under the usage rights drop-down.
POND5 Editorial Platform
Searchable news footage and image archive that allows small clip downloading.
Independent resource of avant-garde art, film, sound, video, and text. Educational use permitted.
Jet Magazine- 1950-2005
Digitized copies of Jet Magazine are available through Google Books.
Digitized Magazines at Google Books
Select "magazines" from the search options.
The Advocate, 1990-2006
Available through Google Books
College Music Journal, available through Google Books.
Ebony magazine, 1959-2008
Available through Google Books
LIFE magazine, 1953-1972
Available at Google Books.
SPIN magazine, 1985-2012
Available at Google Books
The Magazine Rack at Internet Archive
Over 34,000 digitized magazine issues.
Historical Newspapers at Google News
Many back issues of newspapers; full scans.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include: current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, from: articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals.
ProQuest Current and Historical Newspapers
Current issues of major newspapers and access to historical newspapers.
Detroit Free Press Backfile (1923-1999)
Search images and text of Detroit Free Press.
Historical New York Times (1851-2006)
Browse and search historical issues of the New York Times.
How to research fashion history- FIT guide
A guide for research methods and resources for fashion history.
Students, faculty, and staff must use a WSU email address (ending in "@wayne.edu") when creating RefWorks accounts. If you are a WSU affiliate and are having troubles creating a RefWorks accounts, please message email@example.com for assistance.