Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Books, Study, Literature, Learn, Stack

Royalty free image from Pixabay

All the Subject of the Month Guides from 2013.

Why Have a Subject of the Month Guide?

For years, the display in the Purdy/Kresge Library highlighted books from the print collections on a unique topic every month.  However, the WSU Library System has a rich collection of eBooks, Online Journals, and Databases, too.  In addition, there is an electronic universe of high-quality, freely available online resources that includes websites, videos, and blogs.  This Research Guide for the Subject of the Month was developed in an effort to gather these resources together and make them available to a wider audience -- reaching students, faculty, and the online community at large.

Diary, Notebook, Calendars, Bibles

Royalty free image from Pixabay

Interested in other Subject of the Month Guides throughout the years?


Check them out!

2012

2013

2014

2015

2016

2017

2018

2019

2020

January-June 2013

Sign for Detroit Music Subject of the Month

Selector: Richard Moritz

“Detroit music embraces all styles and forms – Blues, County, Jazz, Gospel, Techno/Electric, Motown/R&B/Soul, Pop/Rock and a strong Classical music performance tradition. And more than being just a part of Detroit – it has traveled the world. From Jack Scott being a legend in Sweden, to obscure Detroit soul records being revered at Northern Soul palaces in England, to Paul Paray and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s enduring legacy on Mercury Records. And music lovers travel to Detroit – to the Motown Museum, the Jazz Festival, and the Techno music festival to see and experience what we developed and have enjoyed here for decades. Detroit Music – it travels the world and the world travels here. Detroit Music is truly international and still right here for us to enjoy.”

Check it out here!

Sign for Black History Month SOMD

Selectors: Damecia Donahue and Marcus Adams

Black History Month 2013 (BHM 2013): At the Crossroads of Freedom and Equality: The Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington.

“The year 2013 marks two important anniversaries in the history of African Americans and the United States. On January 1, 1863, the Emancipation Proclamation set the United States on the path of ending slavery. In 1963, a century later, America once again stood at the crossroads. Nine years earlier, the U.S. Supreme Court had outlawed racial segregation in public schools, but the nation had not yet committed itself to equality of citizenship.”

Quote from the Association for the Study of African American Life and History. 

Check it out here!

Muslim Journeys Display Sign

Selector: Karen Liston

"The Muslim Journeys Bookshelf is not intended to be a comprehensive study of Islam as a religion or of the Muslim world in all its complexity. Rather, it seeks to introduce readers to some new and diverse perspectives on the people, places, histories, beliefs, practices, and cultures of Muslims in the United States and around the world. The collection has been organized around five themes, including American StoriesConnected HistoriesLiterary ReflectionsPathways of Faith and Points of View."

- from the Muslim Journeys Website

Check it out here!

Kasle Collection Subject of the Month Sign

Selectors: Richard Buboltz and Rachael Clark

 

Check it out here!

June is National Candy Month

Selectors: Katrina Rouan & Stephanie Fair

"Candy is a little pleasure in life, a real treat when enjoyed in moderation. Confectionery can promote a sense a well-being, but only if we treat ourselves right - to an overall balanced lifestyle sprinkled with just the right amount of snacks."

Quote provided from National Confectioners Association.

Check it out here!

 

July-December 2013

Urban Farming Sign for Display

Selectors: Emily Brush and Nina Fawaz

"Urban farming is a uniquely powerful tool for change, in that it can stimultaneously reshape the places where we live and the way we eat.  It is also uniquely accessible - available to grassroots change agents and high-ranking policymakers alike."

- Sarah C. Rich, Urban Farms

Check it out here!

History of Nursign Sign for Display

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy

History of Nursing is an exciting and particularly relevant topic today as we brace for the implementation of the Affordable Care Act and the changes in our healthcare financing and delivery systems it entails- including changes to nursing organization and practice. The selections for this guide include books on nursing history on display in the Purdy-Kresge Library (available for checkout!), selected books and ebooks from our collection, nursing history journal articles, digitized primary sources in the public domain, and information on collections at Wayne State University and other institutions that house historical nursing archival and image collections. I hope you enjoy browsing these selections.

Check it out here!

Arabian Nights Sign Subject of the Month 9 2013

Selector: Karen Liston

The Arabian Nights (Alif Layla wa Layla or ألف ليلة وليلة in Arabic) are among the most well-known stories in the world.  Their authorship, and exact country-of-origin unknown, they are the fantastic legends on which many westerners' impressions of the historical Middle East are based.  I invite you to come browse the book display on the first floor of the Purdy-Kresge Library, pick up a copy (or find one online below), read a tale or two, and attend the program on September 19 (details below).  These marvelous tales and illustrations strike a chord - of the familiar, fantastic, exciting, adventurous, clever, titillating, - and sometimes even instructive - nature of the best storytelling.  More resources relating to the Arabian Nights and other tales from the Middle East can be found below.

Check it out here!

Humanities Center 20th Anniversary Sign for Oct 2013 Subject of the Month

Selector: Judith Arnold

This Subject of the Month guide celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Wayne State University Humanities Center. It features information and visuals of a display of examples of funded scholarly and creative works supported by the Center as well as details about the Center, its mission and accomplishments.

Check it out here!

Sign for Novemebr's Subject of the Month Women and Mental Health Issues

Selectors: Anne Hudson & Emily Brush

The resources included here are being highlighted this month in support of a special exhibit from the National Library of Medicine, The Literature of Prescription: Charlotte Perkins Gilman and "The Yellow Wallpaper," a story about a woman experiencing mental health issues.

Check it out here!

Government Documents Display Sign

Selector: Monique Andrews

United States government information is more accessible than ever thanks to the Internet. Did you know there is no copyright on government information?  Federal information is produced for citizens and each year more is available for free on government web site and in online archives. Wayne State University Library System strives to provide access to online government information for students and the community.

Check it out here!