Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Flowers, Book, Spring, Bloom

Royalty free image from Pixabay

All the Subject of the Month Guides from 2017.

Why Have a Subject of the Month Guide?

For years, the display in the Purdy/Kresge Library highlighted books from the print collections on a unique topic every month.  However, the WSU Library System has a rich collection of eBooks, Online Journals, and Databases, too.  In addition, there is an electronic universe of high-quality, freely available online resources that includes websites, videos, and blogs.  This Research Guide for the Subject of the Month was developed in an effort to gather these resources together and make them available to a wider audience -- reaching students, faculty, and the online community at large.

Diary, Notebook, Calendars, Bibles

Royalty free image from Pixabay

Interested in other Subject of the Month Guides throughout the years?


Check them out!

2012

2013

2014

2015

2016

2017

2018

2019

2020

January-June 2017

Sign with Social Media logos

Selector: Maria Nuccilli, Brittany Hill, and Emily Brush

"Social media spark a revelation that we, the people, have a voice, and through the democratization of content and ideas we can once again unite around common passions, inspire movements, and ignite change." - Brian Solis

Check it out here!

The crisis in black education brick wall separating open student from open book

Selectors: Brooke Lowe and Karen Liston

"The crisis in black education first began in the days of slavery when it was unlawful for slaves to learn to read and write. In pre-Civil War northern cities, free blacks were forced as children to walk long distances past white schools on their way to the one school relegated solely to them. Whether by laws, policies, or practices, racially separated schools remained the norm in America from the late nineteenth century well into our own time."

-ASALH Black History Month 2017 Executive Summary

Check it out here!

Historic photo of women in labor and business from Reuther Archives

Selectors: Stefanie Caloia, Meghan Courtney, and Troy Eller English

How many "trailblazing women in labor and business" can you name? How many of their stories can you tell? Who are role models for your career?

In the 1970s members of the Sonoma County (California) Commission on the Status of Women discovered that history textbooks discussed the accomplishments of women in just 3 percent of their pages. Members launched a Women’s History Week to teach students about all the female role models and women's history missing from their textbooks. The National Women's History Project was founded in 1980 and successfully lobbied Congress in 1987 to designate March as Women's History Month.

Check it out here!

Photograph of North Cascades National Park in Washington state

Photograph by Vincent Roberts

Selector: Robin Darling

"There is a delight in the hardy life of the open. There are no words that can tell the hidden spirit of the wilderness, that can reveal its mystery, its melancholy and its charm. The nation behaves well if it treats the natural resources as assets which it must turn over to the next generation increased; and not impaired in value. Conservation means development as much as it does protection."

Theodore Roosevelt

Check it out here!

Title Page from Book History of the Expedition, Lewis and Clark

Selectors: Cindy Krolikowski and Richard Buboltz

 

 

Image result for lewis and clark expedition quotes

Check it out here!

Falling Water Photo

Selectors: Jim Van Loon, Rosa Forte

June 8 marks the 150th anniversary of Frank Lloyd Wright’s birth in Richland Center, Wisconsin in 1867.  The Purdy-Kresge display and online guide “Frank Lloyd Wright at 150” includes material selected from the WSU library collection and online sources to provide insight into the life and work of this colossal (and controversial) American design talent.

Check it out here!

July-December 2017

Detroit 1967 photo of firefighters

Selectors: Monique Oldfield and Michelle LaLonde

 

July 2017 marks 50 years since the 1967 Detroit "riots" or "rebellion."

 

Check it out here!

Map of Detroit with Marked Locations

Selector: Clayton Hayes

Though Detroit was founded in 1701, it can be argued that it did not develop into a city in the modern sense until after the American Civil War. As with many American cities, the Industrial Revolution and, later, the auto industry sparked a period of growth that shaped Detroit into the city we know today. This guide provides a glimpse into that process, highlighting materials on the physical city itself including architecture, the city's layout, and Detroit's history.

Check it out here!

Skull with crossed blades pirate flag

Selectors: Rachael Clark, Karen Liston, Lori Rinaldi, and Damecia Donahue

Arr! Ahoy, mateys! Pirates, buccaneers, corsairs, privateers, and river pirates are known around the world as ship and coastal area robbers and smugglers. Their history is said to date back as early as the Ancient World, and their legacy continues to date. Although a minority, women were also known as pirates, and date back as early as 232 to 228 BC, starting with Queen Teuta of Illyria. Some of the most infamous pirates include Blackbeard, Anne Bonny, and Captain Kidd. We hope you enjoy our selection of resources! Be sure to visit the display in the Purdy-Kresge Library for more rapscallion delights!

Check it out here!

Cybersecurity and Internet Privacy

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy

The recent Equifax breach that potentially exposed over 143 million 146 million Americans to identity theft and credit fraud has caused many to give online privacy and security measures a second look. As smartphones, tablets, credit and debit cards, and social media move from being optional to required features of participating in commercial and civic society, it's important to understand what personal information is being broadcast by you (on Facebook and Twitter) and your devices, and how it is being collected and used by governments, marketers, data brokers (like Equifax) and maybe hackers. Even cats can be potential password sniffers. October is Cybersecurity Month, and to celebrate, we've put together this guide of resources where you can inform yourself about online privacy and security, and take steps to protect yourself.

Check it out here!

Atlas with Compass sign for display on Atlases, See the World

Selectors: Monique Oldfield and Richard Buboltz

November 12 through 18, 2017 is Geography Awareness Week! The Wayne State University Libraries are full of geography resources. This guide and display celebrates our rich atlas collection. The Libraries have an incredible number of historical and topical atlases.

Try out some online geography trivia too.

Check it out here!

Downtown Detroit street scene decorated for the holidays with vintage automobiles

Image Credit:  Virtual Motor City Collection, Washington Blvd, Detroit 11/30/1930.

Selector: Rhonda McGinnis

Winter is a time for many beloved holidays!  Whether you celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa, enjoy the resources you may find here.  Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!!!!!!!

Check it out here!