Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Daisy, Open book

Royalty free image from Pixabay

All the Subject of the Month Guides from 2020.

Why Have a Subject of the Month Guide?

For years, the display in the Purdy/Kresge Library highlighted books from the print collections on a unique topic every month.  However, the WSU Library System has a rich collection of eBooks, Online Journals, and Databases, too.  In addition, there is an electronic universe of high-quality, freely available online resources that includes websites, videos, and blogs.  This Research Guide for the Subject of the Month was developed in an effort to gather these resources together and make them available to a wider audience -- reaching students, faculty, and the online community at large.

Royalty free image from Pixabay

Interested in other Subject of the Month Guides throughout the years?


Check them out!

2012                                               2018

2013                                               2019

2014                                               2020

2015                                                      2021

2016                                                       2022

2017                                                                

 

January-June 2020

Squirrel with tree branches

Selector: Chell Robinson, GSA

 Squirrel Appreciation Day is January 21st. Take some time as classes start to appreciate the smaller things in life!

Check it out here!

Image of Protest for African American Voting Rights

Selector: Brooke Lowe

Check it out here!

Selectors: Chelewa Gant and Jan Bissett

"I declare to you that woman must not depend upon the protection of man, but must be taught to protect herself, and there I take my stand."

-Susan B. Anthony

We wanted to acknowledge and celebrate the centennial of the constitutional right to vote for women in the United States.  In this presidential election year, it’s vital that you exercise that right.

Check it out here!

quote: "hey girl, sometimes it snows in April, that's why we wait for tomato plants"

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy & Lori Rinaldi

April is a great month to get gardening! Whether you're a beginner or a seasoned pro, each new spring brings a fresh set of gardening possibilities and challenges. There are as many ways to grow a garden as there are gardeners: growing vegetables in pots, tending a bed of flowers, and constructing larger landscaping projects are all fun and relaxing ways to strengthen our relationships with the natural world and to discover the wonder of plants in the human environment. We hope this guide will provide some resources for your gardening adventures in Southeast Michigan.

image sourceDreer's Garden Book, 1904, p. 8 

Check it out here!

undefined

Selector: Maria Nuccilli

"The music is just like Detroit, a complete mistake. It’s like George Clinton and Kraftwerk stuck in an elevator"

Derrick May, techno pioneer, quoted in 1988

Slideshow photo: Movement 2010. Credit

Check it out here!


Royalty free image from Pixaby

Selectors: Cassidy Ulsh and Meghan Courtney

June 28, 1970, one year after Stonewall, a number of activists launched the Christopher Street Liberation Day March, later known as the NYC Pride Parade. The idea caught on, and today LGBTQ communities across the world celebrate Pride Month in June.

We hope this guide will help you explore resources on LGBTQ history, culture, and advocacy.

Check it out here!

July-August 2020

comic logo, pow, history

Selector: Cassidy Ulsh

。・:*:・゚★。・:*:・゚☆ Comic books to me are fairy tales for grown-ups ☆・゚:*:。★・゚:*:・。

 -Stan Lee

Check it out here!

 

A view of the coastline of a body of water from high above; the land (at the top of the image) looks to be mostly farmland and forest, with buildings scattered here and there; a starkly visible cloud of algae covers a large area of water at the bottom of the image; the words 'August is National Water Quality Month' overlay an empty expanse of water on the right-hand side of the image

Selector: Clayton Hayes

Check it out here!

Selectors: Ida Martinez and Serena Vaquilar


Hispanic Heritage Week began in 1968 and was expanded in 1988 to span 30 days in September and October. It is a time to recognize and celebrate the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens descended from Spain, the Caribbean, Central and  South America, and Mexico.

To fully celebrate Latinos in the U.S. today, it's important to get a full understanding of their history.

Check it out here!

Selector:  Rhonda McGinnis

“Time passes, day by day. The greatness of this country lies in the inexorable journey it has taken through time."

― Yo Yo, Ghost Tide

China is a vast country whose history extends over 4 millennia.   Throughout this time, its diverse people have developed amazingly rich cultures and arts--and FOOD!  Enjoy the books and websites gathered here as you learn more about this wonderful country and its people from the comfort of your home.

Check it out here!

Photographic image of island at sunset, "Digital Special Collections," "Subject of the Month, November 2020"

"View of an Island at Sunset" hand-tinted lantern slide, 1930. Dennis Glen Cooper Collection.

Selector: Members of the Special Collections Team

While many special collections, including our own, are closed due to the pandemic, digital primary sources are available 24/7! Check out digitized special collections from the Wayne State Library System, as well as collections from other institutions to which the Library has access.

Check it out here!