Strength Training and Exercise Prescription for Rehabilitation Professionals is a modern, evidence-based, therapeutic exercise textbook written for clinicians, by a clinician. The content aims to fill any gaps in exercise knowledge and truly highlights the application and integration of progressive resistance training into the rehabilitation setting. This book delivers a vast, well-researched exercise library and provides sound guidance on developing a comprehensive exercise program, including exercise selection, prescription, and dosing for any individual.

This text is an effort to summarize and synthesize the existing research dealing with the influence of physical activity on mental health, as well as the potential mechanisms underlying psychological effects. Contributions from some of the leading experts in the field deal with mental health through prevention, exercise prescription, exercise adherence, drug therapy and exercise, the influence of physical activity on depression, anxiety, and self-esteem, and the paradoxical effects of excessive amounts of exercise.

Exercise to Prevent and Manage Chronic Disease Across the Lifespan provides evidence-based insights into the clinical utility of exercise in the management of disease across a broad range of specialties and diseases. The book offers research informed strategies for the integration of exercise into standard practice in fields such as neurology, endocrinology, psychiatry and oncology, as well as decision-making pathways and clinical scenarios to advance patient care. The book is divided by specialty and includes clinical scenarios to allow for the integration of information within practice.The book's synthesized research evidence allows practitioners to safely and effectively begin to capitalize on the benefits of exercise in their patients.- Provides broad insights into the evidence-based underpinnings of the use of exercise in a range of common diseases- Coverage includes the immune system, musculoskeletal disease, oncology, endocrinology, cardiology, respiratory diseases, and more- Includes a glossary, bibliography and summary figures for quick reference of information

Jennifer Pilotti's latest book explores the science at the intersection of movement and mental health. It encourages readers to consider in greater detail the way exercise impacts the nervous system, and how it influences the ability to sense, feel and perceive the internal and external world. Based on the author's extensive experience in both researching and teaching movement therapies, the book is designed to be accessible to practitioners and professionals across a range of disciplines. From Yoga and Tai Chi to dance teaching and personal training, the coaching guidance provided can also help therapists of all kinds think about the use of language, potential roadblocks and exercise interventions and programming in new ways. By examining key topics including aerobic exercise, resistance training and restorative movement, this book is a valuable resource for all kinds of practitioners looking for inventive ways to help their clients achieve physical and emotional balance.

This text brings together reviews of issues in the relationship between physical activity, fitness and depression, stimulating individual reflection and including debate on research, methodologies, and applied practices. This book helps the reader understand depression as a disease and the other health problems associated with it.

The premier text for therapeutic exercise Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Immersive Cases Online--NEW! Six multimedia clinical scenarios let you practice applying theory to clinical practice. Full-color, narrated videos demonstrate multiple options for exercise progressions and help hone your critical-thinking skills by addressing the challenges of specific pathologies, patient loading, and post-intervention strategies. Video Library Online Full-color videos show you how. A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization,resistance, and spinal stabilization. See what students and practitioners are saying online about previous editions... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F.S. Good buy."Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa S.

In ACSM's Exercise for Older Adults world-renowned researchers and practitioners make a compelling case for older adults to engage in physical activity. Over the course of ten chapters, the text highlights the physiological, psychological, and social benefits of a physically active lifestyle. Students and professionals will benefit from implementation strategies including motivation to initiate and maintain exercise; options for healthy older adults; options for older adults with special needs; and assessing progress and performance. The text completes its presentation by including practical information on integrating exercise into complete healthy lifestyles with consideration to helping individuals select a physical activity program that works. A frequently asked questions chapter provides exercise professionals with resources to anticipate and respond to their clients. Features: · Chapter Introductions and Chapter Outlines at the beginning of each chapter provide an overview of important concepts. · Key Point boxes illustrate terms, definitions, and ideas. · Real-Life Stories , or vignettes, describe older adults who have successfully implemented physical activity programs. · Questions for Reflection help students review what they have learned and encourage students to engage in critical thinking. The American College of Sports Medicine, founded in 1954, is the world's largest sports medicine and exercise science organization with more than 45,000 national, regional, and international members and certified professionals in more than 90 countries. With professionals representing more than 70 occupations, ACSM offers a 360-degree view of sports medicine and exercise science. From academicians to students and from personal trainers to physicians, the association of public health, health/fitness, clinical exercise, and health care professionals is dedicated to helping people worldwide live longer, healthier lives through science, education, medicine, and policy. For more information, visit www.acsm.org , www.acsm.org/facebook,and www.twitter.com/acsmnews.

The application of psychology to sport and exercise settings is a relatively new field which is rapidly developing and expanding. This branch of psychology is concerned with understanding the behaviour, mental processes, and well-being of people who are involved in sport and exercise. Practitioners typically specialise in either the sport or exercise branches, though some work equally in both fields. This book presents invigorating recent research in the field.

Current research is changing the notion that little can be done to deflect the inexorable damage done to the brain by the aging process. Exercise and Its Mediating Effects on Cognition shows that although many factors contribute to a healthy mind, an active lifestyle provides positive contributions to the cognitive functioning of the aging brain. Exercise and Its Mediating Effects on Cognition examines how physical activity can indirectly affect cognitive function by influencing mediators--such as sleep quality, nutrition, disease states, anxiety, and depression--that affect physical and mental resources for cognition. This volume also identifies and studies key sources of individual variations in exercise and cognitive processes. Seventeen internationally recognized experts in exercise, cognition, neurobiological processes, and aging provide a review of the state of knowledge and, where appropriate, provide practical applications of research findings. The book's review of research will update and expand current thinking on pertinent issues regarding the relationship between exercise and cognition. The research presented in Exercise and Its Mediating Effects on Cognition is organized within a general model that illustrates the interrelationships of exercise and physical activity and the mediators that enhance cognition. Each chapter begins with an overview of how the topic fits into the general model. Following each chapter, a summary provides not only the highlights of the chapter but also the consensus or controversies associated with the chapter topic. The first chapter outlines the exercise-cognition model developed by Spirduso, Poon, Chodzko-Zajko, and the text's contributors. Chapter 2 discusses exercise, mediators that affect physical and mental resources for cognition, and the combined relational effect on the cognitive process. Chapters 3 through 5 present research conducted on exercise and cognition in relation to depression, stress, and self-efficacy. Chapter 6 discusses cognitive energetics. Methodological problems of exercise and mental resources are presented in chapter 7; and diet, motor behavior, and cognition are discussed in chapter 8. Chapters 9 and 10 discuss the relationships between exercise, sleep, and cognition. The effects of exercise on cognition in cases of hypertension, diabetes, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease are presented in chapters 11 through 13. In the final chapter, the editors offer conclusions and future research directions. Exercise and Its Mediating Effects on Cognition is the second of a three-volume series in Human Kinetics' Aging, Exercise, and Cognition series, which presents advanced research and key issues for understanding and researching the links between exercise, aging, and cognition. In Exercise and Its Mediating Effects on Cognition, internationally known experts define current knowledge and future directions to address issues of active living, cognitive functioning, and aging. All three volumes are essential references for cognitive gerontologists, medical and health science researchers, exercise science researchers and professionals, and public health administrators interested in scientific evidence demonstrating the beneficial effects of regular physical activity on cognitive functioning and general health during the aging process.

Thoroughly revised and updated throughout--in a long wearing, hard cover binding, Kisner & Colby's 5th Edition offers the most up-to-date exercise guidelines for individualizing interventions for individuals with movement disorders. Now, with even more illustrations, it encompasses all of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy. This renowned manual remains the authoritative source for exercise instruction for the therapist and for patient self management.