About Citing References Using APA Style
Welcome to the guide for Citing References Using APA Style!
We hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for information on APA Style, 6th edition. We have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.
Note: APA 6th Edition requires Double-Spacing throughout your paper.
More APA Style Guides
- APA Style Guide, 6th ed.This is the website for the 6th edition of the APA Style manual with features including:
A tutorial on the Basics of APA Style
A tutorial on What's New in the 6th Edition
A helpful FAQ about APA Style - APA Style Guide to Electronic ReferencesWSU Access ID & Password
This guide is a revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Click the APA Style Guide Full Text (PDF) to access the guide online. - APA ExposedAn online tutorial illustrating how to layout, format in-text references and bibliographic reference in APA Style.
- The Writer's Handbook: APA Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the APA, 6th ed.
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Citation Style Chart:A handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
- Research and Documentation Online: Social SciencesAn online resource for using APA style.
Sample Research Paper in APA Style
Citation Management Software
Links to citation management software, tutorials, downloads, etc. available to you to assist you with citing your sources.
EndNote citation management software available free to all WSU students, faculty and staff. It allows you to manually enter citation information, or export directly from the library's online databases. EndNote can format bibliographic entries in almost every citation style and works with most word processors to insert citations and build reference lists as you write.
Learn more about EndNote through an online tutorial or webinar.
Zotero is a free online citation management software that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and use the saved references with Microsoft Word and other word processing software. Zotero is a plug-in that ONLY works with the Firefox browser.
Learn how to use Zotero.
Finding DOI information in databases or in articles
A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a unique and permanent set of numbers and letters that will always lead you to the location of a document on the Internet.
"In the 6th Edition of the APA Publication Manual, DOIs figure prominently in the APA Style reference."
Places you can find DOIs
APA Examples Handout
Other Relevant Guides
Citation Tools
- Format APA in Word 2010Video demonstrating step-by-step instructions. Created by Patrick S. Love for the Daytona State College Writing Center, 2011.
- Format APA in Word 2007Step-by-step instructions on creating running heads, margins, page numbering and more in Word 2007.
- NoodleBib ExpressA free online tool to create citations in MLA, APA and Chicago style.
- Citation BuilderThe Citation Builder illustrates differences among several major styles of citing information sources. From North Carolina State University.
- EasyBibA fee-based online bibliography and citation maker. The MLA version is free.



Loading...
