Skip to main content
All libraries remain closed, but we're here to support you remotely: COVID-19 Updates from the Library System

Special Collections

Welcome to Special Collections

The Wayne State University Library System Special Collections serves as a repository for special collections materials regarding the history and development of children's literature; African American literature and culture; Detroit and Michigan history, art and literature; the sciences, including medicine and nursing; Judaica; and historical Michigan law.

Most Special Collections materials do not circulate (leave the library). Users may consult materials in the Richard and Dr. Candace Beutell Gardner Special Collections and Rare Book Room. Because our material is housed offsite, please contact us with your request before visiting.

Search our Collections

Library Catalog

Search Special Collections in the library catalog by keyword or known collection title.


Digital Collections

Explore the Library System's Digital Collections for content from Special Collections and other departments.


ArchivesSpace@Wayne

Search ArchivesSpace for Special Collections finding aids.

Highlights

The Ellesmere Chaucer

The Ellesmere Chaucer: reproduced in facsimile.

Albert Kahn, Architect

Albert Kahn, architect: Detroit, Michigan. Author's autograph presentation copy of his architectural catalog.

The Globe Theatre

The Globe Theatre 3D card, designed by C. Walter Hodges. Accompanies A report to founding members and other contributors (Shakespeare's Globe in America: the reconstruction project of Wayne State University Theatre).

Report of investigation

Report of investigation by the Detroit Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild and Wolverine Bar Association of Michigan on the summary contempt citation against George W. Crockett (of the Michigan Bar), adopted on November 16, 1949.