The Motown Research Collection
This collection explores the music and history of Motown, beginning in the 1950s. Included are key books, music CDs, and videos.
Browse the Motown Research Collection
The original Motown headquarters, from the Virtual Motor City digital collection.
Grande Ballroom Handbills and Posters Collection
This collection includes 93 framed Grande Ballroom concert handbills, seen below. Many of these were designed by artists Gary Grimshaw and Carl Lundgren, with photography by Leni Sinclair.
The cards are arranged by performance dates from 1967-1970. This part of the collection is on view in the Undergraduate Library, as part of the Cass Corridor Culture display on the third floor.
In addition, a number of full sized Grande Ballroom posters from the same era, as well as local rock posters from later years are included in the collection.
The collection was donated by the estate of Bruce Cohen.
The Detroit Focus Quarterly
- The Detroit Focus Quarterly (1982-1998)The Detroit Focus Quarterly was published by Detroit Focus, a non-profit arts organization that supports art and artists in the Detroit area. The quarterly, published from 1982 to 1998, included interviews with artists, articles about the art scene and current issues, as well as listings of art exhibits. The collection was digitized and is part of the library's Digital Collections. Wayne State University Special Collections has additional archival materials from Detroit Focus. Contact the library for more information.