Skip to Main Content
Undergraduate Library
Arthur Neef Law Library Purdy/Kresge Library Reuther Library Shiffman Medical Library Undergraduate Library
Menu

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Sign In

Help
Chat Email CallFAQ Staff Directory Appointments

Special Collections

The Kresge-Hooker Scientific Library

 

Bookplate of the Hooker Scientific Library.

Search the Kresge-Hooker Scientific Library

From an early age, Samuel Hooker collected scientific texts. Upon retiring in 1915, he made it his goal to have nothing less than the most complete chemistry library in the world. He collected not only contemporary works but also early scientific periodicals, including Transactions of the Royal Society of London (1665), Annales de Chimie (1789), and Schweiggers Journal für Chemie und Physik (1811). By the time of his death in 1935, the library consisted of roughly 2,470 monographs and 18,850 periodical volumes. 

Following Hooker's death, the library became the responsibility of his heirs. It was Hooker's wish that the library be transferred to a university or college, where it would be made available to the maximum number of researchers. Neil E. Gordon, a professor at Central College in Missouri, entered into negotiations to have the library brought to his institution for the cost of $100,000. However, Gordon did not remain in Missouri. In 1942 he accepted the chairmanship of Wayne State University's (known then as Wayne University’s) chemistry department. Because Gordon had been instrumental in securing the collection in the first place, he felt it was his responsibility to oversee and care for it. Therefore, he insisted the collection come to Wayne University with him.  By this time, it was determined that $200,000 would be necessary to relocate the collection; half for the original collection and the other half to bring it up to date. Seven years had already elapsed since Hooker's death and the collection had seen little growth.  

Wayne University quickly began canvassing for donors. Large industrial firms were particularly willing to contribute to the cause. However, it was still not enough. The problem was solved when the Kresge Foundation agreed to cover the remaining half of the cost. With cash in hand, Gordon was able to secure the collection's transfer. It was formally dedicated in May 1946. In 1953, the collection would move to the newly-constructed Kresge Science Library (today’s Kresge side of the Purdy/Kresge Library), and in 1970 to the brand new Science and Engineering Library (now the STEM Innovation Learning Center) on the Wayne State University campus. 

Samuel Cox Hooker

Photo courtesy of the Walter P. Reuther Library.

Samuel Hooker was born on April 19, 1864 in the county of Kent, England. He became interested in photography at a young age and decided to study chemistry, enrolling in the Government Science School in London. When he was only twenty years old, he co-authored his first published paper with one of the school's professors. In 1884, he relocated to Munich to continue his studies, proving to be a chemist of great skill by earning his Ph.D. in the unheard time period of only one year. After getting his doctorate, Hooker emigrated to the United States, where he hoped to secure a university research position. However, this path eluded him, and he began to work instead for the Franklin Sugar Refining Co. in Philadelphia. This marked the beginning of more than thirty years involvement with the American sugar industry. Hooker was responsible for a number of important breakthroughs in the industry, both chemical and technological. He retired in 1915 as a member of the American Sugar Refining Company's board of directors. In retirement, Hooker pursued his two passions: organic chemistry, and (perhaps unexpectedly) magic! He died on October 12, 1935, at age 71.

Selected Scans from the Kresge-Hooker Scientific Library