BorrowingComputer LabPhotocopying & PrintingPlaces & Spaces for YouRemote AccessRequest MaterialsReserve a Group Study Room@LRCResearch Support
Books & eBooksDatabasesDrug InfoResearch SupportScholarly Communications@WSUShiffman Timesavers
AnatomyClinical Laboratory ScienceDrug InfoHow to Use EndnoteNursing AnesthesiaPharmacy & Pharmaceutical SciencesPhysician Assistant StudiesResearch SupportScholarly Communications@WSUShiffman-Related Timesavers
This is the "Home" page of the "Applebaum LRC " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Applebaum LRC  

Shiffman - Pharmacy & Health Sciences Timesaver (Guide)
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/applebaum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Major eBook Collectons for You:

 

Shiffman Services

Shiffman Medical Library

Information Service Desk 
(313) 577-1094

Hours


Things we can do for you:

  • Research support (e.g. scholarly collaboration & manuscript submission for NIH funding as well as WSU DigitalCommons, systematic review literature search, find experts in a field using bibliographic metrics tools, citations formatting using Endnote)
  • Literature search
  • Curriculum-support workshops
  • Create a LibGuide for your department or a target group of students or faculty
  • Onsite consultations
  • Order required books or subscribe core journals or databases to support your teaching and research
  • Endnote support

  • Contact us: 
    313-577-0586 
    askmed@wayne.edu
 

Mobile Access

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

 

Applebaum LRC

The Applebaum LRC is located at  the Suite 330 of Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, 259 Mack Avenue, Detroit, MI 48201. It consists of 11 small group study rooms, a large individual study area and a computer lab with 48 networked computers and a printer for their study. The Applebaum building provides high speed wireless connection where students or faculty can access library and educational resources using their laptops, desktops, or mobile devices. The required textbooks are available for checkouts at the LRC for individual or group study. 

The group study rooms can be reserved online in advance.

HoursMon. - Fri. 8:30am-5:00pm
 
Contact: (313) 577-1279 | 
askmed@wayne.edu

Onsite Staff: Linda Blakely

Liaison Librarian: Wendy Wu

Key Resources

Search Articles, Books & More

Research Warrior

Searches Databases, the Library Catalog, and freely accesible material
  • AccessPharmacy  
      
    Core textbooks for Pharmacy, drug info, NAPLEX Questions, and more.
  • AccessMedicine  
      
    Textbooks, core curriculum for medical students, Exam Q, drugs, and more.
  • AccessAnesthesiology
    Access core textbooks, tools, procedural videos, Custom Curriculum, etc.
  • CINAHL plus with full text  
      
    Nursing and allied health journal articles.
  • Clinical Key
    Provide quick answers to clinical questions in medical and surgical specialty.
  • Clinical Pharmacology  
      
    Drug information tools and databases.
    Note: Get an Access Code for mobile access from askmed@wayne.edu
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    Cochrane systematic reviews and more.
  • Micromedex
    Comprehensive Drug Info
  • Natural Standard
    Provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies
  • PsycInfo
    Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines
  • PubMed@Wayne  
      
    Biomedicine articles
  • ResearchConnect
    A tool that provides expertise information across most disciplines at WSU.
  • SciFinder
    Provide access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information
  • Scopus
    A large collection of abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in sciences, technology, medicine, etc.
  • UptoDate
    Evidence-based clinical topic reviews & drug info
  • Web of Science
    Core journal articles and cited references in sciences and technology
  • Databases A-Z
 

Get What You Need

WSU OneCard: Use OneCard for library items checkout, materials copying or printing, parking, food and bookstore purchases, etc.


Use WSU AccessID:

  • To access library resources remotely
  • To view "My Library Account",
  • To request books from other locations to be delivered to the Applebaum LRC (Get It), 
  • To order journal articles or books,
  • To access Shiffman computing facility
  • To use Blackboard and Pipeline.


Remote Access:

Many licensed library resources (ex. online journals, databases & more) are accessible to Wayne State students, faculty, and staff off-campus. To access resources remotely, go to Shiffman website and click the link and then login using your WSU AccessID & password for authentication.

If you experience any problems see if they are addressed on the EZproxy FAQ.

Ask for help School of Medicine users: askmed@wayne.edu | 313-577-1094

 

Applebaum LRC Virtual Tour

 

Library Resources & Services

 

US News Ranking

 

Announcements

BrowZine

Find, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals directly from your iPad, Google Nexus, Samsung Galaxy, Kindle Fire HD devices which runs OS 4.0+ with the BrowZine app


NEW UpToDate SUBSCRIPTION BRINGS CHANGES FOR WSU USERS

WSU UpToDate (U2D) users must register and create a personal username and password to access UpToDate.  There is no cost to register. Your personal registration provides  a free UpToDate Mobile App for up to  two mobile devices and access to U2D from any computer.  

Complete the one-time registration by launching UpToDate from the Shiffman Library webpage to take advantage of all of the benefits this new subscription has to offer.

Re-verification of your affiliation may be required and can be completed by logging into U2D from the Shiffman Library website either onsite or through ezproxy once every thirty days.

See more instructions here:  http://lgdata.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com/docs/692/841246/UptoDate.pdf

 

UptoDate app available! Download mobile app to access UpToDate® from your mobile device via Apple Store (for iPhone® and iPad®) or Google Play (for Android™). Windows8 tablet user can download from Windows Store icon on your Windows8 start screen.


Micromedex & Clinical Pharmacology provide mobile access. Visit Shiffman Mobile for detail instructions.

 

Things to Remember

Use your WSU Access ID & password  for off campus access to the library resources.

Start at this Timesaver or Shiffman Medical Library website for your study and research. Do NOT use PIPELINE to access library resources, as PIPELINE might disable some features.

Use "360 Link to Full Text" to obtain full text articles.

When searching WSULS catalog or Research Warrior, click "Get It" (catalog) or "View in Classic Catalog / Place "Get It" Reque" (Research Warrior) to request the book(s) to be delivered to the Applebaum LRC for you to pickup.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip