Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Reference Tools

Quick reference information.

When to Cite Sources

Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another, you are required to cite your source and provide a complete reference for your source in a bibliography.

General Citation Guides

MLA Style Guides

APA Style Guides

Chicago/Turabian Style Guides

Citation Generators

Citation Management Apps

RefWorks Citation Manager (Beginner Level)

RefWorks is a cloud-based licensed citation management app available free to all Wayne State students, faculty and staff. It can collect citations from databases and Google Scholar, format bibliographies in lots of citations styles, and works with Word and Google Docs to insert citations and build reference lists as you write. Recommended for Undergraduates. RefWorks is also a good option is you work on lots of groups research projects, or use public computers and need a cloud based option.


Zotero Citation Manager (Beginner Level)

Zotero is a free app that lets you create and save a library of your sources, take notes, and use those sources with Word to integrate the citations in your paper and create a properly formatted bibliography. Recommended for Undergraduates and all levels of students in the Social Sciences or Humanities


EndNote Citation Manager (Advanced Level)

EndNote citation management software is licensed software available for purchase (at a significantly discounted rate) by all Wayne State students, faculty and staff. It can format bibliographic entries in almost every citation style and works with most word processors to insert citations and build reference lists as you write. Citation information can be entered manually or export directly from the library's online databases. Recommended for Graduate Students in the Sciences or Engineering.

Find your citation