Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Subject of the Month

A monthly display in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

October 2012

Detroit Poetry Sign

Selectors: Judith Arnold and Diane Sybeldon

Guide Page: Diane Sybeldon and Lisa Phillips

The poetry books selected for the display include works by Detroit poets, WSU faculty, and friends of the Detroit poetry community, with an emphasis on established poets of the 1960s to 1980s.

On Poetry In Detroit

From the introduction to Abandon Automobile: Detroit City Poetry 2001, edited by Melba Joyce Boyd and M. L. Liebler (Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2001), pages 23-28

            “…The unique contribution of Detroit poetry to American literature is as distinct as the city’s historical contribution to the Industrial Revolution. Before Henry Ford induced thousands to work in his factories for five dollars a day, Detroit was largely regarded as a port city..."

This essay has been used with permission from Wayne State University Press. To read the rest of the essay, click on the document link below:

Cass Corridor Culture

Cass near Ferry

The Cass Corridor and the surrounding Wayne State community have a rich cultural heritage in art, poetry, music and politics. Learn more about it by clicking the link below:

Student Essays on Detroit Poetry

These essays were written by WSU students in ENG 5480, a literature course taught by Dr. Todd Duncan.

The first essay, by Edward Baranek, discusses the intersection of Detroit poetry and music. He offers examples of the work of John Lee Hooker,
Etheridge Knight, M.L. Liebler, the poets and jazz musicians of the Detroit Artists Workshop, etc.

The second essay, by Sarah Pokornicki, chronicles the work of U.S. Poet Laureate and Detroit native, Philip Levine, and the changing perceptions of Detroit.

More About Detroit Poets

Melba Joyce Boyd - Speaking about Detroit writers and being black in Detroit at the WSU Fall Humanities Symposium 2011

Dudley Randall - A reading of 5 of his poems and a brief biography

Naomi Long Madgett (website)

Bibliography of Detroit Literature

Bibliography of Detroit Literature: Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Creative Nonfiction - From Marygrove College in Detroit, and compiled by Frank D. Rashid (Professor of English at Marygrove),Thomas A. Klug, Jamie Babcock, Cassie Atkinson, and Laurie LePain Kopack

A comprehensive list of works by and about Detroiters.

Detroit Poets Laureate

"We burn this city every day"  -Philip Levine

Prominent poets with Detroit roots include:

Roberty Hayden was named the first African American Poet Laureate of the United States, in 1976. (At that time, it was called the Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress). He grew up in Detroit's Paradise Valley, and attended the City College of Detroit, which later became Wayne State University.

Philip Levine was the United States Poet Laureate in 2011. He grew up in Detroit, and was heavily influenced by working in its auto factories and his study of poetry at Wayne University (now WSU).

Dudley Randall became the city of Detroit's Poet Laureate in 1981.

Naomi Long Madgett began publishing poetry at seventeen, founded the Lotus Press, as a high school English teacher taught the first course in African American literature in Detroit Public Schools, and went on to teach at the University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University. She was named the City of Detroit's Poet Laureate in 2001, and is the winner of the 2012 Kresge Foundation Eminent Artist Award.

Search for Articles

Try these WSU licensed article databases. Full text articles are accessible by WSU affiliates only.

Broadsides, Poetry Books, and Chapbooks

Print Collections in the Wayne State University Libraries:

  • Alternative Press Collection Archives (available at the Purdy-Kresge Graduate Library) - The Collection includes 3 boxes of announcements, books, calendars, mailings, and ephemera.
  • Dudley Randall Collection (part of African American Literature Special Collection at the Purdy-Kresge Graduate Library)
  • Lotus Press Collection (part of African American Literature Special Collection at the Purdy-Kresge Graduate Library)

At the University of Detroit-Mercy:

Detroit Poetry Publishers

Significant Local Publishers

  • Broadside Press
  • The Alternative Press (see box at left and below)
  • Detroit Artists Workshop Press
  • Lotus Press - An African American poetry press, established in 1972 by Naomi Long Madgett.
  • Detroit River Press
  • Past Tents Press -founded in 1985 the Press supports and publishes writers who live, work or have a history of involvement in Detroit's cultural communities.
  • Doorjamb Press - published Dispatch Detroit, a local poetry magazine, from 1998-2007 (available at the Undergraduate Library)

Picture of the Display

Picture of the Detroit Poetry display.

"Detroit City Poets" Oral Histories

Brenda Goodman, Alternative Press

"Poem" drawing by Brenda Goodman

Melba Joyce Boyd's words in memory of Mick Vranich aptly describe the world of the Cass Corridor poets, who...

"could rock a poem
about hard knocks
in Detroit
like a siren protesting
murdered dreams"

(from Crystallizing the Moon, 2011)


The following poets have been interviewed for the "Detroit City Poets Oral History Project" by Canadian researcher and documentarian, Monika Berenyi. The materials have been donated to the WSU Libraries and are available for checkout from the Undergraduate Library.


 

Featured Books- Detroit Poets