Some Notes about Tests and Measurement and Assessment Instruments Published tests and measurement and assessment instruments are those available from commercial publishers. Their use is highly restricted. In most cases, users are required to contact the author or publisher to obtain a copy of the test or instrument or permission to use the test or instrument. There may be fees involved in the use of published tests or instruments.

Unpublished tests or instruments are not commercially available, but may be located through some of the resources provided below, like the ETS Test Database or the Health and Psychosocial Instruments database. Those wishing to administer an unpublished test or instrument will need to consider possible copyright restrictions. Contacting the author for permission is advisable and often required.

The WSU Library System DOES NOT collect educational or psychological tests or measurement or assessment instruments.

Penn State has published a guide to Finding Psychological and Educational Testing Instruments that might provide answers to some of your questions about locating and using testing, measurement and assessment instruments. PLEASE NOTE THAT SOME INFORMATION, SUCH AS TEST AVAILABILITY, DOES NOT APPLY TO WAYNE STATE.

The Tests & Measures search box in the PsycINFO Advanced Search screen can be used to locate questionnaires, surveys and other instruments by name or by type. It is important to remember that many instruments are protected by copyright and use restrictions, are not freely available (as explained above).

To see if you can find an specific instrument by name:

• Go to the PsycINFO Advanced Search screen
• Under the Search Options, find the Test & Measures search box.
• Type in the name of the instrument followed by the words AND appended
  • ​Example:  Life Situations Questionnaire AND appended
• Click on Search

From your search results, you can click on a title in your list, then scroll down to the Tests & Measures section to see the titles of the instruments used in the article. Titles of instruments followed by the word appended should appear in the full-text of the article, usually at the end of the article. Use the PDF Full-Text or 360 Link to Full Text link to access the article and the instrument.

To see if you can find an instrument by type:

• Go to the PsycINFO Advanced Search screen
• In the top area, type in a search term describing your general area of interest (for example: bullying or eating disorders)
• Under the Search Options, find the Test & Measures search box.
• Type in the type of instrument followed by the words AND appended 
  • Example:  survey AND appended
  • Example:  questionnaire AND appended
• Click on Search

From your search results, you can click on a title in your list, then scroll down to the Tests & Measures section to see the titles of the instruments used in the article.  Instruments that are followed by the word appended should appear in the full-text of the article, usually at the end of the article. Use the PDF Full-Text or 360 Link to Full Text link to access the article and the instrument.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) database provides the ability to search for instruments, such as questionnaires or scales. It is important to remember that many instruments are protected by copyright and use restrictions, are not freely available (as explained above).

To see if you can find an specific instrument by name:

• Go to the CINAHL Advanced Search screen Under the Search Options
• Type in the name of the instrument and select Instrumentation from the drop-down search type menu.
• From your search results, you can click on a title in your list, then scroll down to the Instrumentation section to see the title(s) of the instrument(s) used in the article.

To see if you can find an instrument by type:

• Go to the CINAHL Advanced Search screen In the top area, type in a search term describing your general area of interest (for example: eating disorders or patient quality)
• Under the Search Options, find the Publication Type search box.
• Select Questionnaire/Scale or Research Instrument (to select both, hold down the CTRL key)
• Click on Search

From your search results, you can click on a title in your list, then scroll down to the Instrumentation section to see the title(s) of the instrument(s) used in the article. Use the PDF Full-Text or 360 Link to Full Text link to access the article and the instrument, if available.

Wayne State Library Catalog

If you know the name of a particular test or instrument, you can search for it as a keyword in the library catalog, to see if there are any materials related to the test or instrument in our collection.

Do a subject search for EDUCATIONAL TESTS AND MEASUREMENTS to locate materials on educational testing and assessment.

Do a subject search for PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS to locate materials related to psychological testing and measurement.