EthicsAncient CulturesBiographiesMedieval CulturesScience FictionDetroit PoetryFolklore, Myths, & LegendsSculpture
Detroit MusicFreedom & EqualityMuslim JourneysKasle CollectionNational Candy MonthUrban FarmingHistory of NursingArabian Nights & Other TalesHumanities CenterWomen & Mental Health IssuesGovernment Documents
Sculpture
This is the "Physical Science, Sept 2014" page of the "Subject of the Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Subject of the Month  

A monthly display in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/somd Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Physical Science, Sept 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

September 2014

Physical Science Image for September 2014

Selector: James Van Loon and Rachael Clark

"Here There and Everywhere!" Exhibit

Exhibit Themes Overview Image

A Special Exhibit in the Atrium of the Undergraduate Library from September 8 - 26, 2014.  Developed by NASA and the Chandra X-ray Center of the Smithsonian. 

 

Here, There, and Everywhere - Video Trailer

Featured Internet Resources, September 2014

Website Icon

  • Astrophysics Data System
    A digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 7.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-print
  • INSPIRE!
    High-Energy Physics Literature Database, replaces SPIRES.
  • NIST Data Gateway
    The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
  • Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
    The Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review Series I-III. The Wayne State subscription provides full-text access to all APS journal articles published from 1893–present.
  • Science.gov
    Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
  • SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.

Featured Databases, September 2014

Research Databases Icon

  • Scopus
    "Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • INSPEC  
      
    Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.
  • arXiv.org e-Print archive  
      
    arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
  • IOP Science  
      
    A platform for IOP-hosted journal content. It provides site-wide access to scientific, technical and medical content, and incorporates some of the most innovative technologies to enhance the user-experience.
  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
 

Picture of the Display

Physics and Astronomy Book Display Sept 2014

 

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett Quote

Sir Terence David John "Terry" Pratchett, OBE (born 28 April 1948) is an English author of fantasy novels, especially comical works. In 2001 he won the annual Carnegie Medal for The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, the first Discworld book marketed for children. He received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement in 2010.     -Wikipedia

 

Featured Journal

Cover Art
Nature Physics
Nature Physics publishes papers in all areas of physics, pure and applied.

 

Books from the Catalog Scrolling Content Box

(sample book from the catalog)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry - Jack Moore (Editor); Nicholas Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook: WSU Access ID & Password Required
ISBN: 0750303131
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
The Encyclopedia of Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics introduces possibly unfamiliar areas, explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors. The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Particular attention has been paid to symbols and abbreviations to make this a user-friendly encyclopedia. Care has been taken to ensure that the reading level is suitable for the trained chemist or physicist. The encyclopedia is divided in three major sections: FUNDAMENTALS: the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions, the macroscopic and statistical description of systems at equilibrium, and the basic ways of treating reacting systems. The contributions in this section assume a somewhat less sophisticated audience than the two subsequent sections. At least a portion of each article inevitably covers material that might also be found in a modern, undergraduate physical chemistry text. METHODS: the instrumentation and fundamental theory employed in the major spectroscopic techniques, the experimental means for characterizing materials, the instrumentation and basic theory employed in the study of chemical kinetics, and the computational techniques used to predict the static and dynamic properties of materials. APPLICATIONS: specific topics of current interest and intensive research. For the practicing physicist or chemist, this encyclopedia is the place to start when confronted with a new problem or when the techniques of an unfamiliar area might be exploited. For a graduate student in chemistry or physics, the encyclopedia gives a synopsis of the basics and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems. It will lead any of these groups to the salient points of a new field as rapidly as possible and gives pointers as to where to read about the topic in more detail.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Condensed Matter Physics - Bassani Wyder Liedl; G. Franco Bassani (Editor); Peter Wyder (Editor); Gerald Liedl (Editor)
Call Number: Purdy/Kresge Library: QC 173.454 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0122276108
Publication Date: 2005-08-23
The work provides solid coverage in the fundamental theoretical aspects of the subject, with carefully planned cross-linking and structuring to give the user the potential to gain a solid grounding in the theoretical aspects of quantum mechanics, mechanics, electrodynamics, relativity, statistical mechanics, and elementary particiles that form the core physics background for the field. These core areas form the background for coverage of such areas as crystallography, transport phenomena, various theoretical models (electronic, band structure, materials property models, etc), and physical properties of materials (electrical, magnetic, optical, thermal, etc). Coverage of experimental techniques will include, among others, the full range of scattering, microscopy, and spectroscopy techniques. Other entries do cover a range of materials processing (solidification, crystal growth, molecular beam epitaxy, sputtering, sintering, etc) and include coverage of key materials systems (macromolecules, nanostructures, polymers, ceramics, and alloys). Special materials systems that have had and continue to have a major impact on society such as semiconductors, laser materials, and superconductors are covered. The encyclopedia also includes a wide range of applied topics, device-oriented topics, developments in biomaterials, soft condensed matter, complex fluids, etc. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.

 

Fysikshow

"So there are these guys, these science-genius guys, who also love music. Fysikshow is the name and the awesome-ness you’re about to witness in the video, below, is their doing. They took the Ruben’s tube to another level and added a 2-D Pyro Board, with 2500 drilled holes in it, to the already-cool invention."    The Source

 

Science on a Sphere

NOAA Logo

"Science On a Sphere is an amazing spherical display system that projects dynamic simulations of the Earth, its atmosphere, oceans and land. Simply put, it's a global display system that uses computers and video projectors to display planetary data onto a 6-foot diameter sphere, analogous to a giant animated globe."

"The Detroit Zoo is only the second zoo in the country to install the system as a permanent
attraction. Science On a Sphere was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the agency that studies environmental data and provides the operating systems for this remarkable exhibit."

 

Fun with Physical Science

Science Penguin Logo

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip