Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for Labor Studies
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Labor Studies. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.
Rhonda J. McGinnis
Librarian Liaison for Labor Studies
Reference Books
Departmental Information
Labor Studies Program Homepage
Contact Information
Labor Studies Program
656 W. Kirby 3178 FAB
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-2191
fax: (313) 577-7726
About the Department
The Labor Studies Major prepares students for leadership roles in the labor movement and careers in labor relations.
Full-Text Databases
- Business Source Complete This database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Tutorial for Basic Search
Tutorial for Advanced Search
NOTE: The video tutorials refer to the database as Business Source Corporate and/or references corporate users but searching is exactly the same as the version we have here at Wayne State. - ProQuest Research Library Basic coverage of all subject areas including: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences and women
- Project Muse Provides access to the journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Consult the online table of contents for holdings.
- America: history and life Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in print formats.
- JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections) Provides images and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online table of contents for holdings.
- HeinOnline To eventually provide full text online access to all legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections in a searchable electronic format.
Electronic Indexes and Abstracts
- EconLit Produced by the American Economics Association and provides coverage of 620 different economics periodicals with citation information and abstract.
- PAIS International International Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government and other publications from 120 countries. See PAIS Archive for material previously published in the PAIS Bulletin (1915-1976).
- Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Records provide citations and abstract of article.
- Historical abstracts Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
Internet Resources - General Research Guides
- SocioSiteSocial science information system based at the University of Amsterdam that provides an international focus to sociological research. Relevant subject areas can include: industrial relations, labor, labor history, labor market, labor movement, and trade unions. Some overlapping will occur. Also provides a listing of electronic libraries and journals, research institutes, newsgroups, and weblogs from around the world. Use subject area search to find information on labor and industrial relations.
- Virtual Library Labour HistoryA library network created by its members to help foster research in international labor history. Includes an extensive international listing of labor periodicals that are subscription based.
Internet Resources - Research Institutions
- Walter P. Reuther LibraryIncludes the Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs, the largest labor archive in the United States. Provides access to the heritage of the American labor movement and related reform movements of the 20th century through research links, finding aids and historical resources. Collections include urban affairs, with particular focus on the history of Metropolitan Detroit. All materials are non-circulating. See web site for archival policies. Holdings are not in the University Libraries catalog.
- George Meany Center for Labor StudiesSite for the National Labor College, which provides education to union activists. Also provides access to the George Meany Memorial Archive (home to the records of the AFL-CIO), and Labor
- University of Michigan Labor Studies CenterHome to the institute of Labor and Industrial Relations at the University of Michigan, and includes information on the Labor Studies Center, labor market research, labor and global change and the Worker Health Program.
- Institute for Research on labor and Employment LibraryUC Berkley's IRLE Library collects information in multiple disciplines and formats about employment and workplace issues. Particular strengths of the collection are labor history, labor and culture, labor and the arts, labor relations, organization studies, international labor issues, trade unionism and collective bargaining.
Internet Resources - Government Sites
- The U.S. Department of LaborThe Department of Labor fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Provides numerous statistics on labor and industry as well as links to other statistical web sites.
- National Board of Labor RelationsAn independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector. Web site contains decisions from the board and publications.
Internet Resources - Labor News Sources
- LaborNetLaborNet was founded in 1991 to build a democratic communication network for the labor movement. Contains news and viewpoints from the heart of the labor movement.
- LabourStartInternational news site for the labor movement.
- Labor NotesNon-profit organization and monthly magazine about grassroots labor organizations.
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Rm 2210 Adamany Undergraduate Library Wayne State University Library System Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 577-8568 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Reference Desks
- UGL: 313-577-8852
- Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
- Science & Engineering: 313-577-4068
Other Relevant Guides
Microfiche Collections
Life and Labor Shelved as Life and Labor in microfilm periodicals
Labor Unity Shelved at Reuther Library. Ask Reference Archivist for assistance.
Pamphlets in American History Labor No call number. Ask at Purdy Reference Desk for assistance.
American Federation of Labor Records pt.1 55 reels, pt.2 38 reels 3724 MCRFILM
Archives of the Works Projects Administration and Predecessors 1933-1943 ser. 1, pts. 1-2, reels 1-13 3795 MICROFILM
Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration 1916-192925 reels 3657 MCRFILM
The Papers of A. Philip Randolph 35 reels 3783 MCRFILM
Socialist Party Papers reel 1-142 S1609 MCRFILM
Southern Tenant Farmers' Union papers, 1934-1970 reel 1-60 S1635 MCRFILM



Loading...
